1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do I hide update alert?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cupofcloud, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. cupofcloud

    cupofcloud Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    54
    8
    16
    South Jersey
    I'm rooted with the Chinese One Click Root program. Last week I unsuccessfully tried to install the most recent metropcs LG l9 update. Now I keep getting the alert to update, is there a way for me to hide or deactivate this alert as I don't care to update? Thank you
     

    Advertisement

  2. locknload1

    locknload1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    Underwriter
    Los Angeles, CA
    Try this advice as posted by rottweilerjim

    'If you're rooted download a app called FOTAKill.apk and install it in system/app using a file manager. And you won't ever get any s/w updates again. I uploaded a copy of it to 4shared or Google it.'
     
  3. locknload1

    locknload1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    Underwriter
    Los Angeles, CA
  4. HereticSins

    HereticSins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    1,507
    278
    183
    Male
    Dad, Computer Engineer student, Public Service.
    Palm Springs, California.
    Why not unroot update and root? Only takes like 3 mins.
     
  5. locknload1

    locknload1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    Underwriter
    Los Angeles, CA
    So far no one has reported (that I know of) that the Root tools we're using will work after the update. I rooted mine and the update completed while still remaining rooted but that seems to have only been the case with mine.
     
  6. HereticSins

    HereticSins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    1,507
    278
    183
    Male
    Dad, Computer Engineer student, Public Service.
    Palm Springs, California.
    I've done it several times. Rooted with that Chinese tool and replaced superuser with supersu.
     
  7. locknload1

    locknload1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    Underwriter
    Los Angeles, CA
    Good to hear, I have to unroot mine and since I already have the update I wanted to make sure the Chinese root tool would work to reroot it.
    I thought about switching the SU but I kind of like the Chinese version since my coworker translated all the symbols for me.
    It makes me feel like a man of international adventure... just a little! :smokingsomb:
     

Share This Page

Loading...