1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do I keep new app shortcuts from making a new page?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TharosTheDragon, Aug 24, 2017.

  1. TharosTheDragon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014

    Feb 2, 2014
    14
    1
    16
    I don't want to disable automatic app shortcuts. I want app shortcuts to be created when I install a new app, but they're being created on a new page even though there's room available on my first page. How do I fix that?

    I'm running Android 7.1.1.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,000
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,000
    4,969
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I do not have them automatically created on the Home screen. I have them in the app drawer and they are by default alphabetical. I then drag an image of the app icon to the home screen where I want it.

    I am a firm believer in Nova Launcher Prime and find that it provides the tools that I need to arrange my devices the way I want. I have it running on four phones with three different versions of Android (one of which is 7.1.1.),

    ... Thom
     
    PitCarver and Dannydet like this.
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,945
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,945
    35,369
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That's the default behavior for the Google Now launcher. I don't see any setting to change that. :(

    I use either Apex or Nova launcher (depending on my mood or my phone) and those launchers will put the new shortcuts on the default home screen if there's room and only create a new screen if there isn't. If that's the behavior you want, you'll have to use a different launcher.
     
    PitCarver, TharosTheDragon and Thom like this.
  4. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,502
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,502
    1,775
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    I'm with Thom on this one.
    You can long press an icon and move it to any screen, or remove, or uninstall.
    Also depends on the launcher your using
     
    Thom likes this.
  5. TharosTheDragon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014

    Feb 2, 2014
    14
    1
    16
    I'm confused. Are you saying the solution is to just move shortcuts manually?
     
  6. TharosTheDragon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014

    Feb 2, 2014
    14
    1
    16
    How do I know what launcher I'm using? And why did I get the desired behavior on my old phone running Android 6?
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,945
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,945
    35,369
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I can never remember the exact way to get there in settings, but if you open settings and use the search bar at the top, if you search for 'home' you should see 'home app' in the results. tap on that and it will show you what your default launcher is. Tap again and if you have any other launchers installed, you can change it.

    Google Now was not the default launcher in Android 6 unless you had a Nexus. With 7 many manufacturers have incorporated a lot of Google Now behaviors into their launchers, or given you Google Now as an option at startup. See what you've got and then maybe you can look into an alternate launcher.
     
    TharosTheDragon likes this.
  8. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,000
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,000
    4,969
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    On the Moto Z2 Force ...
    Settings/Apps/cog wheel and select Home app

    Pre-installed apps are "improved" by the vendor from release to release. In Motrola the one that got to me was the Phone app. Every release ... learn a new phone app,

    The solution is to find third-party apps that you like and use them on the old and new devices.

    The top of my list ...
    Nova Launcher Prime
    Pixel Phone Pro
    Tasker
    Tasker App Factory

    ... Thom
     
  9. TharosTheDragon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014

    Feb 2, 2014
    14
    1
    16
    Okay, it looks like my old phone had TouchWiz home and my new phone has Moto App Launcher. I'm trying out Nova now.
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  10. TharosTheDragon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014

    Feb 2, 2014
    14
    1
    16
    Nova Launcher reset the apps that were already on the home screen. Is there an Android app launcher that can automatically populate the home screen with all apps from the drawer so I don't have to go and drag each of them individually?
     
  11. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,000
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,000
    4,969
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Nova is a different way of looking at the job. It didn't reset anything. If you go back to settings you can switch back to the old launcher and everything will be where you had it.

    The new things that Nova brings in is multiple drawers in app drawer. You can backup the configuration, take that file to a different device, restore the file and have the new device configured just like the old one. You can have multiple screens in the home screen. (I use seven.)

    ... Thom
     
    PitCarver likes this.
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,945
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,945
    35,369
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    In Nova, go to Nova Settings (not phone settings) > Backup & import settings > Import

    And that should let you import your desktop from The Moto launcher. I'm not sure there's a setting that will let you turn all your apps from the drawer into home screen shortcuts.
     
    TharosTheDragon likes this.
  13. TharosTheDragon

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014

    Feb 2, 2014
    14
    1
    16
    That's very strange. Moto App Launcher didn't show up when I went to import. Stranger still, it allowed me to import from Google Now but it was an empty configuration. I just verified that I don't have Google Now on my phone but I do have Moto App Launcher.
     
  14. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,945
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,945
    35,369
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Nova may not know how to import from Moto launcher. You might want to touch base with the developers for that one.

    support@teslacoilsw.com
     
    TharosTheDragon likes this.
  15. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,000
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,000
    4,969
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    On the Moto Z2 Force ... 7.1.1 ... Moto App Launcher

    In Play Store I turned the option on to add the icon to the home screen. I then installed a new app from Play Store.

    On the Home screen it was added at the end of the list of apps.

    The list seems to be in the order that the apps were added.

    So the "added to a new page" behavior is not present.

    (As mentioned ... I never use this option.)

    ... Thom
     
    TharosTheDragon likes this.
  16. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,000
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,000
    4,969
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I strongly recommend that you do not import information into a new launcher. I recommend that you start with a clean slate, arrange things the way you want, and create a backup.

    This approach removes the variable ... did the import screw something up>

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...