1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How do i know IF i am rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bixler777, May 30, 2011.

  1. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    i did the 'eris 1 click' from the Market, and nuttin seems any different than before. i just had to click on a couple of things during the process, then reboot, etc.

    how to determine IF i did it correctly, and that i'm 'rooted'?

    also....tried the Market's 'setcpu', and the 'setcpu for root users' to try to overclock, but nether program would allow me to go over 528.

    does that mean i'm NOT rooted....or, is there something else i need to do in addition?

    the Eris phone is good enough for me to the point where if i could just REMOVE the lousy 'lag' i have, and/or speed up the thing overall, i'd be happy enough.

    any help MUCH appreciated.

    thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    546
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    Did you flash the rootme.zip? If so, you are probably rooted. To check you should download terminal emulator. Open it once it's installed, type "su" without the "". If terminal emulator jumps down a line and shows "#" then you are rooted.

    Setcpu will not work on a stock rooted Eris because the kernal will not allow overclocking. If you want to overclock your phone, download xtrSense and flash it over the top of your stock setup. You won't lose any of your apps or data that way, it will look like stock, but it will actually function :eek: and will already be over and under clocked to make it faster while on and save battery while off.

    xtrSense: [ROM][GPL][3/15/2011] xtrSENSE5.0.1 [cache2cache,apps2sd,oc,jit]-HTC Sense - xda-developers

    If you are rooted, boot into recovery (power button plus volume up), select "flash zip from sdcard" and select the xtrSense zip. It will install and all will be better.
     
    bixler777 likes this.
  3. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    Before you do this, go to the "Backup/Restore" menu and run a Nandroid backup, just in case something goes wrong.
     
    bixler777 likes this.
  4. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    ok, did the terminal emulator, and got the "#', so i guess i'm good.

    did the xtrSemse also, and it's now rebooted, so likewise, i'm good to go.

    i notice slight 'increase' in overall speed (or is it my imagination), but otherwise, can't tell much difference (yet). everything (GoLauncher, backgrounds, et al) look EXACTLY as they did prior to doing all of this. that's normal?

    thanks you MUCH metlcat! if you're ever in town, i owe you a six pack of your favorite beverage, and a female of choice (in either order!!)! :) :)
     
  5. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    oops, i didn't do that prior to all i did as per above. i'll go back and do it now.

    thanks.

    btw....where do i find the 'backup/restore' menu? do i see it when i reboot (power/vol up)?
     
  6. CondemnedSoul

    CondemnedSoul Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    573
    188
    93
    NJ
    Yes.. when you reboot to recovery you will see the option to backup/restore. Select that and then select nand backup. And yes it is normal for wallpapers etc. to remain intact after flashing and logging in to your google account. These are settings that are backed up to your account and restored after setup. ;)
     
    bixler777 likes this.
  7. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    Pretty much. The phone does run as fast as 710 MHz vs. xtock 528, so some things should seem faster. Also, if you look in settings->SD card and phone storage, you should see that "internal phone storage" is much higher than you had under stock.

    Yes, that's where you will find it - in Amon_RA recovery, the same green-text-on-black-background menu that you used to flash xtrSENSE.
     
    bixler777 likes this.
  8. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    ok....so, as i keep the 'dummie' questions rolling here.... (lol)

    what do i do now that i'm rooted, and overclocked? not quite sure what the 'big deal' is/was now that i've done it....other than what i'm seeing as a slight speed increase.

    i'm NOT a tech wizard with these phones, so i'm all ears if there are any more advantages i can get out of this phone (inasmuch as i'm stuck with it until at least October).

    can i (or do i even 'need to') remove any of the stock apps that came with the phone....the ones that i'll never use....now that i'm rooted?

    any other comments hugely appreciated.

    thanks again to all.
     
  9. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    546
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    You can remove certain stock apps, but some are (for some reason) required for things to work correctly. If you look in your app drawer, there should be an app called Gscript lite. If you open it, Zack.xtr has loaded several scripts that will make tweaks to the ROM. I believe one of them is to remove some of the stock apps. I haven't used xtrSense, so someone else will have to confirm this. I would also download Titanium Backup so you can backup your apps. This will make restoration much easier if you decide to try a different rom, whether it's another 2.1, Froyo, or Gingerbread.

    Look through the All things Root forum and check out different topics to see what other people do with their rooted phone and to find tips that you might want to try.
     
    bixler777 likes this.
  10. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    i do have the Gscript app, but when opened, the screen is blank. it's menu has a place to add a script...but obviously that's not gonna be me! lol

    and, Titanium Backup is on the way.

    thanks again.
     
  11. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    546
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    There might be a fold that was installed on your sdcard that has scripts preloaded. Try selecting add a script and see if there is a folder called "scripts" or "gscripts" or something like that.
     
  12. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal

    when i hit 'add a script', it wants me 'add' a script, and 'name' it in the process.
     
  13. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Tap Load file to see a list of scripts available.
     
  14. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal

    yessir, that worked. lots of stuff when i hit the "load file" thing.
     
  15. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    I guess when I go to bed early to get up early to get the worm I miss out helping. So that being said I guess I missed out on the woman of choice.:eek:;):D
     
  16. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    never fear....there's still hope:

    in the "GScript" app, what is "user-service-batterytweak-enable.sh"?

    and, what do i do (if anything) with all of the other things listed in the 'load file' section (such as the above batteryweak?)

    are these options for me to perform, or are they files (or something else) that are already doing something? (in other words, should i leave them alone)?

    thanks.
     
  17. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    The answers to both questions are in the xtrSENSE first post in this thread at xda-developers: How To Make Netflix App Work On Your Unsupported Rooted Android Device

    But, to be specific:

    It's explained fairly well starting in the post I linked above; look for text that starts:

    There is a lot more information about this particular tweak at this link: Collin_ph Battery Tweak for Darch Froyo Roms - xda-developers

    but, the executive summary is this: this loads a script when the phone is booted that monitors the status of your battery. If you are charging, it checks a certain amount of seconds apart (I believe it is 15 seconds) and adjusts your CPU max and min speeds up. If you are on battery, it checks every 60 seconds (I believe) to see what your current charge level is and begins slowly adjusting the min and max CPU speeds down, to give you a bit better performance when the phone is well charged but better battery life (at the expense of performance) as the battery discharges.


    I suggest that you do nothing. These are the actual scripts that these script files will run when you tap on them.

    Again, the xtrSENSE post that I linked at the top of this reply gives some instruction on how to load and run the scripts using GScript; look for the text starting with this:

     
    bixler777 likes this.
  18. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    thanks for the detailed, straightforward response. much appreciated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...