1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How do I know if my phone is rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zackw22, May 1, 2010.

  1. zackw22

    zackw22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Idaho
    I have a Eris and I grabbed what was to be the 2.1 ROM and followed the instructions and it said "Than your phone should be rooted" but how can I really tell if it is or not. Because I'm trying to update some patches but don't think its going to work
     

    Advertisement

  2. MJL

    MJL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    252
    27
    43
    Plug your phone in. open cmd prompt. navigate to your tools folder in the sdk. type adb shell. type SU. look at your phone to see if an SU request pops up. click allow. your cmd prompt should have a #. if so youre rooted.
     
  3. steve4tis

    steve4tis Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    it says permission denied when i do that
     
  4. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    You have to turn on USB debugging first. Menu, Settings, Applications, Development, check the "debugging" box.

    Open command prompt, follow directions above.
     
  5. yarnseeker

    yarnseeker Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    I had to try this a couple of times. I finally ended up updating my SDK software and that seemed to fix whatever my issue was.

    To get out of the shell stuff... type EXIT. I had to do it 2x to get back to the prompt.

    I used the One Click Eris Rooter from the Market and so far so good. My only issue was that it says to use the Volume UP button to get into recovery and that didn't work. I had to use the Volume DOWN button but somewhere I read that's a common issue. :)

    Now to put droid something > 2.1 on my darn phone...AFTER I take a backup and then I'll be able to maybe actually do something on this phone. bwahahahahahahahaha
     

Share This Page

Loading...