1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support How Do I "Restore" the Phone to Factory Settings?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Leonne, Sep 5, 2011.

1. Leonne

Leonne Well-Known Member

Hi guys.
    I bought a Samsung Galaxy S II a while ago and it is a beautiful phone, but I have had some pretty annoying problems, and therefore I would like to "restore" the phone to factory settings.

• 3G never seems to be enabled regardless of how many times I configure the APN.
    • KIES used to work fine but now it always "takes too long to respond" whenever I try to access it via URL.
    • Sometimes the battery dies too fast (but I found a thread for that!).
    Please keep in mind I'm REALLY new to the world of Android, so I don't know the "lingo" of this nice world yet ("rooting", etc..). I have looked for a way to restore my phone but everything is a bit confusing, particularly because of these "big words". Can someone tell me how can I restore my phone to factory settings?

As an additional question, is there a way to see all the apps I have purchased/downloaded from the MarketPlace? Just so I can redownload them again. I don't want to do a full backup of the phone since I don't have much important stuff on it, so I would rather leave it in clean state and reinstall the apps manually.

Advertisement

2. Sydney99

Sydney99 Well-Known Member

Jul 7, 2011
    UK
    recovery mode - turn off phone then press vol up+home+power to boot into recovery mode. scroll down to factory reset

marketplace will still remember your apps

3. Leonne

Leonne Well-Known Member

Perfect. Hope this solves all my issues. Thanks a lot for your answer.

4. Slug

Slug Check six!

Aug 1, 2009
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Just for completeness, you can avoid the recovery reboot by going to Settings/Privacy/Factory data reset.

5. Leonne

Leonne Well-Known Member