1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How do i root ZTE sequent ( i know stupid question...)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by swungspeedz, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. swungspeedz

    swungspeedz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    75
    4
    36
    Mechanic
    I just wanted to know how do i root this phone, with my last phone i used odin my Samsung epic 4g. how do I root this phone.:smokingsomb: I'm familiar with the epic 4G rooting and it seems like the sequent is different from the sequent. Im running 4.1.2 jb
     

    Advertisement

  2. TehJibba

    TehJibba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013

    Feb 10, 2013
    294
    98
    53
    Male
    Website Development
    On A Boat
  3. swungspeedz

    swungspeedz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    75
    4
    36
    Mechanic
    when i try to root with junkies it says permission denied[​IMG]
     
  4. TehJibba

    TehJibba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013

    Feb 10, 2013
    294
    98
    53
    Male
    Website Development
    On A Boat
    I didnt say to root with the tool. I said to use fastboot method to flash CWM, Once you get CWM on your phone you can flash the root zip
     
  5. swungspeedz

    swungspeedz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    75
    4
    36
    Mechanic
    what is fastboot and how do I use it ? i been trying all day...
     
  6. TehJibba

    TehJibba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013

    Feb 10, 2013
    294
    98
    53
    Male
    Website Development
    On A Boat
    read the links i provided you. If you read through them all it will get you up and running
     
    swungspeedz likes this.
  7. swungspeedz

    swungspeedz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    75
    4
    36
    Mechanic
    Sweet, I got CWM , Do i just flash the root.zip through CWM?
     
  8. TehJibba

    TehJibba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013

    Feb 10, 2013
    294
    98
    53
    Male
    Website Development
    On A Boat
    yea download it and put on your sd card then go into CWM and choose install from zip
     
  9. swungspeedz

    swungspeedz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    75
    4
    36
    Mechanic
    i did this but when i go and restart and press the key combos it shows just the regular stock recovery mode, i did have cwm but its not there anymore. it seems like CWM was temp how do i make it permanent
     
  10. TehJibba

    TehJibba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013

    Feb 10, 2013
    294
    98
    53
    Male
    Website Development
    On A Boat
    Then use junkies tool over on the recovery options (on the right side) click fastboot and cwm, and flash it with his tool. if fastboot doesnt work click the link for getting fastboot to work i gave you
     
  11. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,101
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,101
    4,290
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    When it asks to disable recovery (stock), say YES
     
  12. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    did you use unmodified root or unmodified no root?

    If you used unmodified root can you do us a favor before you fastboot cwm and grab a copy of the stock recovery?

    In cmd in windows or terminal in linux/mac:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell
    2. su
    3. dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 of=/sdcard/b11_stock_recovery.img
    If adb is working for you, you can also use it to flash cwm to the phone by putting the cwm recovery image on your sdcard (make sure it named the same as your command) and doing the following:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell
    2. su
    3. dd if=/sdcard/recovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13
     

Share This Page

Loading...