1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General how do i switch between apps?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sasquatch, May 7, 2010.

  1. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    82
    6
    16
    is there a quick way to switch between apps ? While some programs you just click on the icon again, that doesn't always work. With podkast for example it'll just run the program twice.
     

    Advertisement

  2. crimton

    crimton Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,055
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    1,055
    180
    163
    TN
    long press the home button
     
    dragonsamus and Mahalo like this.
  3. Adamx

    Adamx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    478
    30
    43
    That likely will also run the program twice, I'd be interested in hearing if it does.

    This isn't a true multi-tasking environment. If you are watching a youtube video, you can't do other stuff and hear it in the background.
     
  4. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    ^ What do you mean run the program twice? If you already opened the app, and went to something else, that original app will be dormant in the background (or even possibly still active depending on what its doing). All you're doing is switching back to it. You are not opening the same app twice
     
  5. crimton

    crimton Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,055
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    1,055
    180
    163
    TN
    i agree.
     
  6. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    82
    6
    16
    try listening to a podcast with podkast. Go out to another app it will keep playing in the background. when you try to go back it won't let you access the player playing the podcast you are listening to.
     
  7. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    That may be the app itself, and not the OS, thats causing that issue. What are you using to listen to podcasts?
     
  8. Mudavo

    Mudavo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    ATL
    The top of the screen menu can be pulled down and has your current running programs.
     
  9. dragonsamus

    dragonsamus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    317
    21
    38
    retail... bleh
    Sacramento, CA
    I didn't know that. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...