1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How do i unroot return to stock? samsung i5700

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by unknown-singh, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. unknown-singh

    unknown-singh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    30
    1
    36
    Technician
    London
    Hi i purchased a samsung galaxy portal I5700 (T-Mobile UK) pre owned. which seems to be running a custom firmware and has been rooted.

    i just want to know if i can and if yes how to return it to stock, so that i can update to the official firmware when released, currently the phone seems very sluggish and sometimes very unresponsive with the firmware it has.


    when i go to about phone it states:

    Firmware version 2.1-Update1
    Baseband version: i570EXXJD1
    Kernel Version 2.6.29root@SE-S608 #2
    Build number@ ECLAIR.XXJE1

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. unknown-singh

    unknown-singh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    30
    1
    36
    Technician
    London
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    You'll likely get more responses to your query in the Samsung forums. I'll move this thread to that area for you.
     
    unknown-singh likes this.
  4. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,087
    1,568
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    You thread was moved to the i7500 forum, so I moved it to the i5700 Portal forum. :D

    Sorry for the inconvenience and good luck with your issue!
     
    unknown-singh likes this.
  5. Thebug

    Thebug Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Would also like to know this.

    Is it just a matter of flashing the original firmware back to the phone?
     
  6. 7500

    7500 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    50
    2
    16
    one way is to use Odin to install a fresh firmware.
     
  7. Thebug

    Thebug Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Ok managed to go back to stock firmware but i still get the samdroid boot screen - is there any way to get rid of this?

    Thanks
     
  8. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    Did you use Odin firmware flash method, and if so what firmware version did you use?

    Check out my root guide on how to install the latest JH6 firmware. This should install standard boot screen.

    Failing that you can try info from this thread.

    how-create-custom-bootlogo-bootanimation
     
  9. Thebug

    Thebug Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    14
    1
    16

    Hi Beerkan - yes i used odin to flash the firmware but i kept my 3 network software as im told i need this for things to work correctly, I used the method in this thread (http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-portal/124315-root-guide.html) but skipped the first bit.

    Edit: that is your guide
     
  10. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    That is my guide. :D

    It's following the second bit that installed the Samdroid Boot logo. :rolleyes:

    Follow the guide again, only just use the first bit. If you do lose your 3 network settings, you can enter them manually.

    Copy this info
    Menu
    Settings
    Wireless & networks
    Mobile Networks
    Access Point Names
    Press 3 or (whatever is listed)

    Make a copy of ALL these settings.

    If you lose them, here's what I found

    carrier="3 UK"
    apn="three.co.uk"
    mmsc="http://mms.um.three.co.uk:10021/mmsc"
    mmsproxy="mms.three.co.uk"
    mmsport="8799"
    mcc="234"
    mnc="20"
    type="default,mms"
     

Share This Page

Loading...