1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do I update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ChaoticBrutal, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. ChaoticBrutal

    ChaoticBrutal Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hi everyone
    I tried to update my phone several times now but even though my phone is connected to my pc, it does not show up when I click update in nps.:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    On your phone,

    Menu
    Settings
    Applications
    Development
    USB Debugging [x] Enable it.

    NPS should now see the phone.

    When you connect your phone via USB to your PC, you'll see a USB Icon, on your phone. To see the SD card from your PC, from phone

    Menu
    Notifications
    USB Connected
    Mount SD Card.

    Your SD card should now be visible on your PC as an external Drive.
     
  3. ChaoticBrutal

    ChaoticBrutal Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    when I click on the magnifying-glass logo, i get the connection wizard. Now the phone does show up in the list but when i click connect it says:

    SAMSUNG ANDROID USB MODEM
    Failed to identify the device.
    Move to search new device.
     
  4. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    OK.. first things first. Most likely there ain't nothing wrong with your phone. Samsung for the crappy NPS software they provide.

    Before you try to update your phone using NPS, (or it's replacement KIES), where are you from?

    That can determine what exactly your updating option are.

    Also what firmware are you on?

    From the phone..
    Menu
    Settings
    About Phone
    Firmware version?
    BaseBand No?
     
  5. ChaoticBrutal

    ChaoticBrutal Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I am from the netherlands ;)
    The firmware i am on now is :
    1.5
    Baseband:
    i5700XXIJ5
     

Share This Page

Loading...