1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How Do We Know if Nexus 10 is in Fastboot Mode ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 4ubest, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. 4ubest

    4ubest Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    278
    15
    38
    Brooksville/Spring Hill
    I am trying to use the Mark Skippen tool to root my Nexus 10 and I guess I need to know how we can tell if a device is in fastboot mode as on the main menu screen it shows a serial # under the ADB mode and I have been unsuccessful using Step 8 (1 click for all) which requires fastboot.

    If it is not in fastboot mode,, what do I do to get it that way or what other options do I have,.. the tool hangs and says waiting for device...

    This is what I see in Device Manager:

    http://screencast.com/t/D3GLyWA92
     

    Advertisement

  2. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    To use fastboot, power off, then hold down the power button and both volume buttons. That will take you to the bootloader screen where you, or the toolkit, can do fastboot commands.

    To get to the recovery menu from the bootloader screen, press the volume button and you will see the label change in the top left. When it says "recovery", press the power button. When it gets to the next screen with just the android, press and hold the power button and then press the volume button one time. You should be in the recovery menu in just a second.
     
    chiph411, 4ubest and Caveman419 like this.
  3. 4ubest

    4ubest Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    278
    15
    38
    Brooksville/Spring Hill
    I just ran the tool thanks to your help and I chose #8 and it finished in a couple of minutes with the message congratulations you are now hacked.. or something like that,.,, How do I verify that I am rooted and what should I do next ?
     
  4. chiph411

    chiph411 Member
    Rank:
     #1,280
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    67
    38
    23
    Daytime bartender
    Ocean City, MD
    Caveman419 and Atma like this.
  5. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Download an app that requires root, like Titanium Backup or AdAway or AdFree Android. If it doesn't work, it should tell you that you need root access.
     
    4ubest and Caveman419 like this.
  6. 4ubest

    4ubest Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    278
    15
    38
    Brooksville/Spring Hill
    Yes, I did download Titanium and adfree and they ;)both installed and ran.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...