1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How do you add punctuation or "return" in speech to text?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Vance, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. Vance

    Vance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    562
    55
    78
    I would like to make short shopping lists with speech to text, but that involves "hitting" the return key to go to the next line. How do I do this with speech? And along those same lines, how do I add punctuation?

     

    Advertisement

  2. jmims

    jmims Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    259
    15
    38
    Columbus, GA
    I'm not sure about return, but as far as punctuation goes you can just speak it. "Period" for period... "Question mark" for question mark...
     
  3. IxI Dan IxI

    IxI Dan IxI Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    242
    11
    38
    "My wife is on her period this week...."

    =

    "My wife is on her . this week...."

    lol
     
    overcaffein8d likes this.
  4. jmims

    jmims Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    259
    15
    38
    Columbus, GA
    LOL... technology can't wain all the time.
     
  5. overcaffein8d

    overcaffein8d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    9
    56
    the thanks is for making me laugh. for far longer than i should have.
     
  6. Vance

    Vance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    562
    55
    78
    That is funny! I have tried the punctuation now and that seems to work pretty good. Any ideas for the return, though?
     
  7. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    "Next Line" ?
     
  8. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    Have you tried saying "Return?" Or "line break?"

    I dunno.
     
  9. Vance

    Vance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    562
    55
    78
    I tried "next line" and "line break" and both times it just typed those out. I don't think they have this feature. That is too bad.
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Carriage return....hmmm - I suppose I should actually try it myself to see...
     
  11. overcaffein8d

    overcaffein8d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    9
    56
    i, for one, think that the droid should not return at all but continue going to the right. but when the text gets very close to the right edge of the screen, it should emit an audible "ding."

    also, we should figure out how to change the audio file for when you're typing on the on-screen keyboard to the sound of a manual typewriter. can you say steampunk?
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Lol - No, I do not want the DROID to be a typewriter....

    I tried every way I could. The only way it works is if you stop talking, it translates, then you manually hit the return key.

    I tried like 8 or 9 keywords, and every time it translated them into the actual words.
     
  13. overcaffein8d

    overcaffein8d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    9
    56
  14. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    614
    36
    88
    Network Admin
    Indiana
    I have been on google help pages, and reading the Nexus One users manual and everything else trying to find this answer, I don't think there is one right now.
     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Yah, this may be an issue that someone needs to report on the Google Android Issues pages....
     
  16. dnoonan

    dnoonan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    36
    0
    15
    Try "new line". Works for dragon naturally speaking.
     
  17. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,443
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,443
    1,942
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Doesn't here - I tried it already (old DNS user).
     
  18. Vance

    Vance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    562
    55
    78
    I think you guys are right, there is no way to do this right now. One of the great uses for me of speech-to-text would be making little to-do lists on the fly, and a list that is just a string of words just doesn't seem right.

    So, if I pull up Evernote or any other note-taking app, being able to create a true "list" by speaking the "return" command would be very useful.
     
  19. eandc1

    eandc1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    if you're using vlingo new line is not currently possible according to their customer FAQ
     
  20. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    You could get the FlexT9 keyboard...it uses the Dragon Naturally Speaking engine, so you can say "next line" for the carriage return.

    I believe it was offered as the free app of the day on Amazon's App Store awhile back, so it may be offered again...
     
  21. JeffGalaxyS219

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    It works for me on Jelly Bean 4.1... I just said "newline" quickly and it did it. If you say "New Line" a bit slower, it will add the text "new line." Say it like it is one word, and it will do a carriage return.
     
  22. Campegirl9

    Campegirl9 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    This worked for me on my new Galaxy Note 2. For example, a grocery list, say:

    Eggs period return.

    It seems that if you say "period" and THEN "return" it returns every time. Of course you will have a period at the end of each item.

    eggs.
    milk.
    bread.
     
    Tujae likes this.
  23. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    try saying "new paragraph"
     
    Thom likes this.
  24. Tujae

    Tujae Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013

    Aug 17, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I'm using a Google Nexus 4, which came with Google Now pre-installed. I found that whenever I said "new line", "new paragraph", or "enter" it gave me a space instead. This method by Campegirl9 is the one that actually worked for me.

    I currently use the keyboard that comes with the Nexus 4. It has much of the same functionality as Swype and it give the option to input text by voice.

    Correction: The other terms work too. They just have to follow a period, exclamation mark, or question mark. I'm not sure if it works on other punctuation.
     
  25. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Thank you Tujae for joining AF and adding what works for you. :hello:
     
  26. Patty F

    Patty F Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016

    Oct 21, 2016
    1
    1
    15
    Female
    It's "newline"
     
    Steve Olson likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...