1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do you assign a custom ringtone to a contact?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nunyabizness, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    264
    103
    68
    Female
    O-H...I-O
    I can't find the option to assign ringtones to contacts. I am super-tired so please forgive me if this is really obvious and I'm missing it! TIA! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    1. Go to contacts
    2. Click the contact
    3. Hit menu
    4. Options
    5. Default ringtone--custom ringtone

    Im super tired as i post this....hopefully that makes sense. lol
     
  3. durangojim

    durangojim Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    491
    470
    88
    The above only works though if you make a contact on the phone itself. If you're just running Google contacts then you can't have a custom ringtone. The way to get around this is to make a contact on the phone as well, but you don't have to put any info in, just link it to your Google contact. Name it the same as the google contact and you'll be all set.
     
    joaoesquecido and IamReady like this.
  4. Spotmark

    Spotmark Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    16
    1
    16
    WTF kind of BS is that? Now I have to make a bunch of duplicate contacts? Give me break.
     
  5. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    264
    103
    68
    Female
    O-H...I-O

    Ohhh, so I wasn't completely losing it! :) Thanks, this helped.
     
  6. BigDaddy Rob

    BigDaddy Rob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    can you give a contact a "silent" ringtone? I didn't see it in the list of ringtones.
     
  7. StephR210

    StephR210 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    What about a ringtone that we saved to our phone?
     
  8. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Same thing. Find it wherever its saved either in your my files or the gallery and then just hit menu and set
     
  9. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    Yeah it is kind of stupid isn't it. it doesn't show up has a dup in the contact list though so its not too stupid just a little stupid.
     
  10. fascinoid

    fascinoid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    ok i figured this out so people know when you have google contacts you can not add a custom ringtone , we all know this .... and everyone says you have to make another contact under your phone not google. which is true all you have to do is click on create contact. and put the name in the same as your google contact you are trying to set a personal ringtone for which was stated earlier in this thread .... now i believe what everyone is thinking is i gotta have multiple contacts so your contact list would look like
    davey - google
    davey - google
    etc...

    but it actually puts it directly in your contact so you will only have one "davey" in your list cause it links itself automatically

    i hope that explanation helps
     
  11. blackbrolly

    blackbrolly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    Above the Canal
    Ringdroid assigns custom ringtones. Thats what i use. No problems here ^_^
     
  12. Kod1ak

    Kod1ak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    45
    12
    18
    Go to contacts. Select your contact. Click on the pencil icon...not the settings icon. At the bottom it has a section for Ringtones. That's it...as simple as that.
     
  13. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    264
    103
    68
    Female
    O-H...I-O
    You do realize this post was from 2010, right? ;)
     
  14. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,378
    3,128
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    It is still very valid for one who is still using a Fascinate.... that is what is so good about forums... the info lasts forever.
     
  15. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    264
    103
    68
    Female
    O-H...I-O
    There are people out there who are still using a Fascinate?! :p Kidding of course. I just didn't think that the method was the same due to a different software version, but my Fascinate was stolen long ago so I have no idea what version it's on.
     
  16. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,768
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,768
    3,732
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    I'd use mine if I still had it from years ago :p lol

    The method should be universal for any android version :thumbup:
     
    nunyabizness likes this.
  17. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    264
    103
    68
    Female
    O-H...I-O
    LOL, so would I! I loved that phone. I had to make do with a Blackberry for awhile afterward. :eek: It was laying on my desk and I went in another room to use the copier and some vagrant walked in and snatched it. Boss was supposed to file an insurance claim but she never did. Bitch. :D
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.
  18. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,768
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,768
    3,732
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    I had the captivate (AT&T version), same phone though, loved it. Used it for just about 3 years until it finally died on me. Moved up to the s2/s3 from there :p
     
  19. amber stephens

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014

    Dec 28, 2014
    1
    0
    15
    Female
    All u gotta do is select the contact, then go to edit pencil, then when on contact edit page go to ad another field n select ringtone n choose from ringtones or local music n choose what one for a song u downloaded to Google music u either have to cut song for custom ringtone or choose what song u want for custom ringtone
     

Share This Page

Loading...