1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support how do you backup your phone!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by v0id, Jan 11, 2012.

1. v0id

v0id Newbie
    None

Dec 10, 2011
    ok i wanted to know how you back up your GN

im new to the android scene so im only tuned for apple backups so looking for best possible ways to backup everything in one go

cheers

Advertisement

2. syntrix

syntrix Android Expert
    None

Nov 6, 2009
    engineer
    The South
    use adb for non root (link in my sig) or some of the other backup options if you have root.

3. Tim K

Tim K Android Expert
    None

Nov 2, 2009
    Male
    Phila, PA
    Well, let google backup most of the important stuff through sync (contacts etc). If you are using a 3rd party launcher like ADW or Nova launcher as a home replacement, most of those allow you to backup your homescreens so that if you install a custom ROM or even change your layout, you can get right back to the layout without adding all the shortcuts every time.

When it comes to your apps, Android keeps a record of any purchased apps, so it will automatically offer to download them should you do a factory reset or change your phone. The rest of the apps typically require another backup program. I've used Titanium backup, but I think it requires ROOT. Its a great program, but if you ever need it, you'll want the paid version. Free version requires you to restore your apps 1 by 1, paid allows bulk restore.

However, I noticed when I swapped out my 1st GN which was defective, that Google had backed up ALL my apps and data. Under "Settings > backup & reset" there is an option to have Google "back up my data" which seemed to work for me - so maybe you don't need titanium anymore (though for people installing custom ROMS and kernels the ability to pick and choose apps to restore and not is probably worth it.

4. trophynuts

trophynuts Android Expert
    None

Jul 6, 2010