1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How do you flash a modem??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by artvandalay22222, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. artvandalay22222

    artvandalay22222 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    268
    26
    43
    DETROIT MI!
    I want to try the Continuum Rom again. On THIS page I read the above comment about flashing a Modem.

    Is this done before I flash the Rom? Is it done After? Do I just put the modem on the sdcard and rename it to update.zip?

    Thanks for any help
     

    Advertisement

  2. TripsYou

    TripsYou Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    196
    17
    38
    Old Navy Clerk
    Calera, AL
    I tried to flash this ROM and it bricked my phone. I had to make my own JIG to fix it.
     
  3. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    298
    42
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    Modem flash is generally done AFTER the ROM install. Depending on the modem package, you can install them through ClockworkMod Recovery or Odin3/Heimdall. It really depends on what modem package you download and want to install...

    I just looked at the JPY modem in that thread, and it looks like a ClockworkMod Recovery install package.

    I really don't know why that dev doesn't just include the modem in the ROM. Most devs putting out ROMs don't make you flash the ROM, and then modem as well....
     
  4. artvandalay22222

    artvandalay22222 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    268
    26
    43
    DETROIT MI!
    I flashed it once before and I thought it was awesome. Then after about a day I turned the phone on and got an endless loop of force closes, so I reflashed cognition 3.0.4.

    I really want to retry this one but im kinda scared ya know, what if that force close loop happens while im at work. I rely on my phone at work.
     
    lilmurray likes this.
  5. artvandalay22222

    artvandalay22222 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    268
    26
    43
    DETROIT MI!
    The rom developers's response to that question:

    So Im trying to understand, I dont need to flash JPY, but it is recommended.

    And to flash JPY, I first flash the new rom, then I download clockwork mod and ROM manager from market and use it to flash the JPY modem. To do that I need to put the JPY modem on the sdcard first.

    Is that right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...