1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How do you install SPrecovery on a 2.1 Droid using a Mac?!?!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ugot2go123, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    Anybody know?! :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    You can just do it on the phone, either with DroidRootPro or manually by downloading the file and following instructions to flash it via a terminal emulator.
     
  3. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    You can also use ROM Manager as a quick way to install SP Recovery (listed under "Flash Alternate Recovery"). I created scripts to go back and forth between SP and Clockwork using Gscript only because I switch back and forth so often.
     
  4. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    The sbf file will work on my phone? And also it says something about checking to make sure it's the right hash or something like that and only gives Linux and Windows directions.
     
  5. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    Where is ROM Manager? And I can do this on a 2.1 Droid for sure? :)
     
  6. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    Where is ROM Manager? And I can do this on a 2.1 Droid for sure? :)
     
  7. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Are you rooted? If you are then ROM Manager is available in the Market. If not you'll either need a PC or you'll have to set up a boot camp partition on your Mac. There is no other way to flash an SBF file.
     
  8. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Why can't you just follow the Linux directions using OS X's terminal?
     
  9. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    I didn't know I could follow Linux directions lol I just got this Macbook the other day, Sorry. And no I am not rooted I'm on the official 2.1 OTA
     
  10. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    The RSD Lite portions require that you run Windows.

    The MD5 check, you could probably run on Mac, though it's only a check to make sure the file was not corrupt in the download.

    As for the actual rooting part, that's all done via adb, so that should be operating system agnostic.
     
  11. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    HAHA sorry I'm a noob I'm so confused. Can you give me a summary of what I should do?
     
  12. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Yea, like Fabo said you need to have a windows machime or use boot camp to rum RSD Lite. Once that is done you can use any OS to finish the rest.
     
  13. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    1. If you can, try to check the md5, make sure it matches what is posted. That way you know your file is good.

    2. Somehow get Windows (either via VM or boot camp), install Droid drivers, install RSD Lite, flash the .SBF file

    3. Since you're in windows anyways, install the Android SDK (all you really need is adb), follow the instructions in the thread on how to install the superuser files to get root.

    All done.
     
  14. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    I don't have Windows to put on my Mac
     
  15. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    :-( I wish this was possible. UGH!!
     
  16. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    You really can't get your hands on a PC in any way? Borrow a friend/family computer for half an hour? What did you use before you got this Macbook?

    If all else fails, look into free alternatives. I have never tried RSD Lite under ReactOS but you could always test it out! Of course, if it fails you'll have to get to a Windows PC and flash the SBF again to fix whatever ReactOS screwed up. ;)
     
  17. ugot2go123

    ugot2go123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    31
    14
    18
    Lol I'll figure it out. So it really is pretty much impossible on a Mac?
     
  18. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Yes. RSD Lite is a Windows-only program and you need RSD Lite to get root.

    You can:
    1) Get access to a Windows PC
    2) Install a Windows partition on your Mac with Boot Camp (recommended cause you'll probably end up needing another Windows program eventually and it's good to have your bases covered)
    3) Use a virtual machine (not really recommended cause peripherals don't usually tend to work the same through a VM and I can't guarantee the flashing process will go properly)
    4) Use Darwine to run RSD Lite (REALLY NOT RECOMMENDED. You're basically playing Russian Roulette as to whether or not your phone will be usable if you do this ;) )
     

Share This Page

Loading...