1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

how do you setup.. VOIP.. using phone to call without carrier?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by dan330, Dec 19, 2013.

  1. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    can someone point me in the right direction?

    I have a rooted Samsung S3.. on Sprint... running "The Peoples ROM"..
    I have moved to AT&T with a Samsung Note3... with a new number.

    The old S3 is still activated on Sprint.. I currently use Google Voice on that phone. Google voice was NOT fully completed the number take over.

    I want to cancel the sprint service.. and use Google.. and keep that phone number with google voice.

    can someone point me to a step by step.. setup the full converstion?
    so that I can cancel Sprint
    use the same phone number with Voice.
    make phone calls over internet/wifi.

    thanks for the help
     

    Advertisement

  2. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,101
    10,757
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    1) Port your number to Google Voice. Doing so will effectively cancel your Sprint line, so you'll probably want to check with them first to make sure you won't incur any extra fees.

    2) One the number is ported, configure GV forwarding to forward calls to Google Chat.

    3) Install and use GrooveIP to make and receive VoIP calls.



    NOTE
    The XMPP protocol that GrooveIP (and many other GV-VoIP clients) use to connect to Google Talk is going away in May, 2014. At that time, the steps I have just spelled out will no longer be sufficient. Unless VoIP calling gets built in to Hangouts (it should at some point, but I haven't seen an ETA), you'll need to look into traditional VoIP solutions - pretty much anything that provides a DID (phone number) will work. Once you get that DID, you just add it to the forwarding list in Google Voice, and then configure a SIP client to connect to it.

    There's some good discussion about the various VoIP options over at XDA; while some of the information is out of date, it should still be useful for getting you pointed in the right direction.
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,483
    Posts:
    20,042
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,042
    9,750
    1,483
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Dan, you can also use Talkatone, both Groove IP and Talkatone do the same, and you can get 2 GV numbers and use them both. ;)

     
    saptech likes this.
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,483
    Posts:
    20,042
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,042
    9,750
    1,483
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Also if you have Magic Jack or Vonage, at home, they both have apps that you can use to do the same, but it will use those numbers.
     
    argedion and codesplice like this.
  5. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,101
    10,757
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Yep, they both do basically the same thing, but they will also both cease to function in May.

    That's a good point - and you could configure GV to forward to that Vonage/MagicJack number as well.
     
    argedion and DonB like this.
  6. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    cease to work in May?? why? whats going on?

    use free Google voice.. and free groove IP..
    are there any charges? minutes used?
     
  7. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,101
    10,757
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
  8. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    so.. after May 2014
    google voice and hangouts will do all of it..
    free phone calls.. via some internet connection
     
  9. boathead

    boathead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    355
    Joined:
    May 26, 2013

    May 26, 2013
    355
    106
    78
    i for one am hoping that hangouts will do it. i've never had cell service and never will. i've been using talkatone, and am anxiously awaiting word that hangouts will serve my needs.

    if not, screw it, i just won't talk to anyone.:) i can already text from hangouts. it's just the voice part that is up in the air.

    tangentially, my landline is through nettalk...sort of like magic jack. i pay 3 bucks a month for my phone service, and i think they also have an app.
     
  10. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,101
    10,757
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    That's what it looks like. I'm hoping that the Hangouts voice calling will be accessible using the Android dialer.
     
  11. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    what is the prepaid for Google Voice for?
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I'm not sure what you mean, can you expand on that?
     
  13. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    if you log into Google Voice on your computer..
    on the left side, at end of menu... there is a "credit".. it started at $.06

    sometimes.. when I make phone calls on my Sprint S3.. to a normal number.
    after I dail a number.. it will tell me this call will cost per minute.
    I know it is google voice.. because it will give me a $.06 time to talk.
    but sometimes that same call .. I will not hear that cost estimate.

    ?????????????
     
  14. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,101
    10,757
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    With Google Voice, most domestic calls are free. The Google Voice balance is used for calls which may not be free - most notably international calls.

    You can see the current rates at https://www.google.com/voice/rates
     
  15. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    yes.. but it was a normal work call.. to a number in same home area. "dallas / ft worth"
    I only use G Voice for texting and voice messages. how would it know when I make an international call?

    if it did know.. would that call be sent via internet / voip?
    or is it charging me.. even though I am using my carrier "sprint".
    so I will get charged for international calls from both: sprint and G voice?
     
  16. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,101
    10,757
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I was answering the "what is the balance for" question; I'm not sure why it would have prompted you to use minutes for a domestic call. Unless you're using a VoIP solution (GrooveIP or otherwise), no GV calls will use internet/data/voip. They're all standard voice calls.
     
  17. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    so.. GrooveIP.. voip.. will cost me????? to call domestic?????
     
  18. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,101
    10,757
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I believe the GV rates apply to VoIP calls as well. So those should be free domestic, but X cents per minute for international.
     
    dan330 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...