1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do you switch to a new SIM card?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by JohnJSal, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #200
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    942
    70
    78
    Houston, TX
    I'm thinking of upgrading my S4 to an S7 and it looks like the S7 uses a different type of SIM card, so I should be getting a new one with the phone.

    How does this work with my existing phone and SIM card? Will it stop working? Do I need to do something to stop it so it won't be like I have two lines on my account?

    I'm new to SIM stuff so I don't know how to move from my current one to a new one.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,193
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,193
    13,300
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    So your current SIM is micro sized? If T-Mobile are supplying the phone, they should should supply a suitable new SIM for it, nano size. Your existing SIM will go dead and be deactivated usually, on a single phone account.
     
    psionandy likes this.
  3. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #200
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    942
    70
    78
    Houston, TX
    Yes, I believe I have micro, and the S7 uses nano. The product page says it comes with a SIM starter kit.

    So when I order it, I will enter my T-Mobile information so the new card will be tied to my account?

    If the current card is deactivated, when does that happen? Obviously I will still need it until the new phone arrives.

    Thanks.
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,193
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,193
    13,300
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I don't know the exact process with T-Mobile, I'm with China Unicom. But someone else on AF might know. :)

    Couid check your existing SIM, see if it has press-out for nano size. In the last couple of years many SIMs are. If so you might not need to change SIM at all. But it does depend on what T-Mobile does of course.
     
  5. comk4ver

    comk4ver Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    25
    5
    16
    Or get yourself a SIM cutter from Amazon and use that? Also if you are keeping your old phone and want to swap from one phone to the other get yourself a SIM card converter. That way you can go from one to another.
     
  6. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,399
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,399
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Just go to the carrier store, they will give you one
     

Share This Page

Loading...