1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do you take a screen shot on a (not rooted) S4?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rossmcm, Sep 4, 2013.

  1. rossmcm

    rossmcm Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 27, 2012

    May 27, 2012
    38
    2
    16
    Anyone know if there is a secret key binding or magic button press to capture a screen shot on the S4? I have noticed a couple of images in the gallery under "screenshot" so I have managed it some stage by accident.

    Can you do it via a PC and one of the Samsung PC apps?

    Don't want to root the phone.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    5,200
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Press the lock key and home button at the same time to take a screenshot on the Samsung Galaxy S4.
     
    rossmcm likes this.
  3. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Make sure you hold them down until the screen clicks (1sec). Just a press will not trigger it.
     
    rossmcm likes this.
  4. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    There are two methods of capturing a screenshot on an un-rooted phone, as this article and video demonstrates...

    Samsung Galaxy S4: How to take a screenshot

    There are also other methods if you use a custom launcher, such as APEX or Nova.
     
    JillianW1 and rossmcm like this.
  5. beowulf7

    beowulf7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #226
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    541
    32
    98
    Male
    Engineer
    TX
    Also, you have to press both buttons at the same time. You can't press one, then the other while holding the former, like the way, for example, Ctrl+Alt+Del works on a Windows computer.
     
  6. rossmcm

    rossmcm Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 27, 2012

    May 27, 2012
    38
    2
    16
    Brilliant. Thanks everyone.
     
  7. scott_

    scott_ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    100
    11
    38
    electrician
    Central Iowa
    I like the screen swipe function personally. I've got mine in an otter box, and trying to press the power button at the same time as the home button is challenging.
     

Share This Page

Loading...