1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How Do You Turn"OFF" The Stupid Nanny-Like Auto Correct On Android?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by the2ndflood, Aug 24, 2016.

?

Does The Auto-Correct Get In Your Way Far Too Often?

  1. YES

    33.3%
  2. NO

    66.7%
  3. To Be Honest, I Have Never Noticed It Before.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
    How do you know how to turn OFF the stupid, nanny-likely spell check on Android? I am so sick of my curse and just adult words, being changed, just because Google has deemed them as bad! It happens everywhere! I once was told that you can turn off the Facebook Messanger version, but that wouldn't help me with any of the other places that I type. I can't deal with this nonsense anymore! Google, Let Me Use MY Words, Not Only The Ones That You Deem To Be Okay! I know that if I choose another part of the post, then go back to where I was typing, that will remove the spell check, but just for that one word. I have to do this trick constantly!!!

     

    Advertisement

  2. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Settings>language and input>whatever keyboard you are using>autocorrect>block offensive words.
    Or something close to that;)
    Or were you just letting off some steam.
     
    ThePhizzle likes this.
  3. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
    How do you know how to turn OFF the stupid, nanny-likely spell check on Android? I am so sick of my curse and just adult words, being changed, just because Google has deemed them as bad! It happens everywhere! I once was told that you can turn off the Facebook Messanger version, but that wouldn't help me with any of the other places that I type. I can't deal with this nonsense anymore! Google, Let Me Use MY Words, Not Only The Ones That You Deem To Be Okay! I know that if I choose another part of the post, then go back to where I was typing, that will remove the spell check, but just for that one word. I have to do this trick constantly!!!
     
  4. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
    Thanks, but I don't see that ability! I have an Unlocked Blackberry Priv, with the latest OS. Don't get me wrong, I do want the Auto Correct to work, just not on my curse and adult words.
     
  5. IsaacGuti

    IsaacGuti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014

    Nov 12, 2014
    123
    65
    73
    Male
    In my shell
    Settings>Language and Keyboard
     
    ThePhizzle likes this.
  6. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Is it a physical keyboard. I'm not familiar with the device.
     
  7. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    #7 Bg260, Aug 24, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2016
    ThePhizzle likes this.
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,115
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,115
    14,080
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I didn't realize it was a physical keyboard on the priv. So there's no options to allow the predictions of rude words or not with it?
     
    Bg260 and ThePhizzle like this.
  9. ThePhizzle

    ThePhizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #182
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015

    Oct 4, 2015
    219
    61
    73
    Male
    Development
    Fresno,California
    Sorrys sir but i was usually advised to try not and post the same question more than once,not to sound so stern or anything, and yes these knowledgeable gentlemen are correct,settings >language and input >google keyboard settings is the common area you'll be able to adjust that settings under block offensive language but be reminded that its in the title please be cautious with the offensive language once inputted on the text it remembers what is typed and may auto suggest and input those words while texting those you may not wish to speak in that sort of fashion...
    I think that feature is one of my favorites of the all the keyboard settings,for i have a bad habit of using the worst member of the swear family, the F-bomb:•( and it's my most dreaded problem, So I thank the heavens for text typing which allows me to sensor out that bad habit of mine which allows me to remain professional.
     
    #9 ThePhizzle, Aug 24, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
    IsaacGuti likes this.
  10. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,145
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    in Textra you can turn off auto prediction

    . AutoPrediction.png
     
  11. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
    Yes, the Priv has both an on-screen and hardware keyboard. That it one of the main reason why I bought it. Because I miss phones with a physical keyboard! But these issues happen on both types of keyboards. I am having a lot of problems with the new Android OS version and / or Blackberry. I can repost all of the issues that I am having? But first, I need to address this stupid nanny-like auto correct and Word Suggestion. I'm not a child. If I want to say something that Google deems negative, then I should have to go through a bunch of things before and after it. So what should I do? And what happen to all of the votes on my survey? There were votes, now there isn't. Is someone deleting this?
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,858
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,858
    16,287
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It looks like you posted 2 identical threads and these have been merged, which might account for the survey results going missing. I'm not sure that a poll ever achieves anything anyway, so wouldn't worry too much about that.

    Unfortunately your problem isn't *Android* but *Blackberry* - they provided the software for the hardware keyboard, and they decided what options would be available and what words would be acceptable. I say unfortunately because there's a lot of experience of Android here, but a lot less with that specific device. You could complain to Blackberry themselves (whether they would listen, who knows), but unless a different keyboard app can take over the hardware keyboard (which may lose some features if it can) it doesn't sound like there are many other options.
     
    #12 Hadron, Aug 25, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2016
  13. ThePhizzle

    ThePhizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #182
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015

    Oct 4, 2015
    219
    61
    73
    Male
    Development
    Fresno,California
    Hehehe,I knew blackberry had auto correction, but never pay mind if it had offensive words blocked out,not really my area of program type.
    Although could there possibly be a chance of a dail up hidden menu code to adjust certain features not accessible in the regular phone option menu?
     
    the2ndflood likes this.
  14. Ca_lvn

    Ca_lvn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014

    Oct 14, 2014
    33
    6
    16
    Tks worked for me.
     
  15. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,655
    443
    Press on the "offending" phrase. The kid and I have x rated words all over our texting.
     
  16. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
     
  17. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
    Oh and I know that I "Should" be able to use the USB port, to access the memory card, but it doesn't work for me. I should have waited until I received the 2TB USB memory storage drive, before I did all of this transferring all of this to my phone, but I couldn't wait! On the Geek app, I was able to receive this storage until for under $10. So it might not last long, but it should work out well enough for my needs. If you do use the Geek app and service though, NEVER call the so-called customer care phone number. It is part of a scam and you will never be able to get a hold of CC. The phone number is actually owned by a totally different company. That is why I have reported them, because that is against the law and just a **** move! Oh any why can't I easily access my posts, from this site, through the Google Android Blackberry Gmail app? I have to keeping accessing the site through a Google Search? I know that I have been asking a lot of questions, so I hope that you don't mind. But I want to be able to learn and help others!
     
    mikedt likes this.
  18. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,858
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,858
    16,287
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I don't know about the storage card on the Priv, but I've never heard of using an email app to access forum posts (though I guess you can set it to send you email notifications for certain things - I turned all of that off immediately). I personally just use a browser on my phone, though there are a few apps for forum browsing, including Tapatalk (general forum browsing) and this forums' own app (slightly clunky name due to Google getting sniffy about the original name starting with "android").
     
    the2ndflood likes this.
  19. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
    My posts don't seem to be going through, so I am going to have to copy & paste this. But thanks Hadron! I love the name! I am also big time into science! If that is what you were going for. I am now using an app to attempt to access this Web site, but so far, all I get is Invalid Forum ID errors. So this is going to take a while. I did contact Blackberry and we are both working on it, I guess. I do have a trouble ticket code, but then want me to take pics of my phone, with my phone. Which I don't think they fully understand! I do have other phones with cameras and other digital cameras, but transferring the pics, without a PC is proven to be difficult. Especially since I have literally hundreds of millions of pics on my phone and thousands of of movies, videos and clips. So sorting through all of this, is difficult. My pictures taken, don't show up in the Download or Camera folders. It has just been tough. Any help is still appreciated! Should I post a new thread, for every question that I have, if one doesn't already exist? I don't want to be annoying. What should I do about all of this? Oh and I haven't been using Gmail for say, to to track of this forum site. I just try and press the links, which fail and then I have to copy & paste the links into Chrome. Which also fail. But then I can delete a few things in the address and then get to my post. So that is what I meant to say.
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,858
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,858
    16,287
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It's probably best to post new threads for distinct issues - makes it easier for people to keep track, and also more helpful for people searching for an issue if they find threads about that issue rather than mainly about other things.

    Yeah, the name is a physics reference: I didn't think I'd be logging on very often (!), so I decided to pick a name that I had a chance of remembering, and there are good reasons that's a hard one for me to forget.
     
  21. the2ndflood

    the2ndflood Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    Automotive Technician
    Murfreesboro, Tennessee
    The biggest problem with the Nanny feature on Blackberry's, is that if you turn it off, then you have to turn off all of auto-correct. Which I like using the service! But this phone is not like other Android phones that I have used before, because it NEVER learns! On other devices, once I use the words a lot, then the OS just assume that I am spelling it correctly and leaves the words along. This horrible phone will never learn and will keep changing, even the dumbest words! I know this is not a curse word, but my dumb Blackberry PRIV, keeps on changing the name of Facebook, to Factbook. Even though I have never used that name, but use Facebook daily. I hate Blackberry!!!!!!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...