1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do you turn on 4G?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by w0rd, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. w0rd

    w0rd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    15
    38
    FL, USA
    Does this screenshot mean I don't have 4G service?
    CLEARS map says I am in the best coverage area, and I did activate with ##clear#
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    It means your 4G antenna is on and you hit that to scan for a signal.
     
  3. w0rd

    w0rd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    15
    38
    FL, USA
    Yes, I hit that. Then it grays out while scanning and returns to that same page.
     
  4. qu4ttro

    qu4ttro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    170
    31
    43
    Jacksonville FL
    Mine automatically connects to 4G when in a coverage area and the antenna is on. I've never had to manually scan for 4G to get a connection.
     
    w0rd likes this.
  5. Nocturnal86

    Nocturnal86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    Male
    Southern California
    It looks like you dont have coverage. And i think clears map is different from what sprint or VM actually covers. So go check VM to see if you really are.
     
  6. ssjChris

    ssjChris Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    May 26, 2012

    May 26, 2012
    100
    13
    38
    Maryland
    If you have the antenna on, it will connect automatically to 4G. If you have it on and see nothing, then I hate to tell you, but you don't have 4G in your neighborhood. You might have it in your city, but it seems the signal doesn't spread out too far. For example, they have 4G in downtown (a mile from me) and I don't have it in my neighborhood, go figure. =S
     
    w0rd likes this.
  7. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Sometimes my phone doesn't reconnect automatically after leaving a spotty area and it'll ask me to scan. Well, actually I don't give it enough time to reconnect automatically, I just scan manually.
     
    w0rd likes this.
  8. w0rd

    w0rd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    15
    38
    FL, USA
    Drove about a 1/2 mile away from my house and 4g automatically connected. I guess Clear's/VM's coverage maps are slightly optimistic. Oh well, most of my city has coverage anyway so I am happy with that.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...