1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How does AT&T's data plan work?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by garyHal, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. garyHal

    garyHal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    So I was about to pick up a Captivate today until I spoke with the sales rep about my data plan. I am still using the 1st gen iPhone with the unlimited edge plan. He told me that there was no way for me to use the Captivate with the old plan unless I upgrade to the new ones.

    I remember reading online awhile back that used the upgrade path from the 1st iPhone to any of the 3g iPhones, which makes it sound like he is BS'ing. I don't know if it still holds true for the Captivate though.

    Any tips?
     

    Advertisement

  2. baddress

    baddress Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    202
    20
    38
    Pretty sure that's BS. If you're on an unlimited smartphone data plan, you're grandfathered in.
     
  3. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    That AT&T rep just took your money. Your old iphone data plan should carry on to the captivate. IT'S UNLIMITED!!!!!!!
     
  4. garyHal

    garyHal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    He took nothing because I didn't switch yet.

    He was telling me how once I activate the Captivate phone, the cell towers would automatically bump me up to 3g, which will then terminate my previous unlimited edge plan ($20).
     
  5. garyHal

    garyHal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    The more I research this, the more it looks like I have to bump up to the $30 plan.
     
  6. bill.g

    bill.g Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    87
    5
    36
    I moved from an iPhone to the captivate myself, those that were on the old iphone data plan can still have an unlimited data plan, mine just shows up as "Smartphone Personal" with unlimited data, though if I ever switch to another plan with a limit I can not change back.

    Just make sure you are in a corporate at&t store and not a franchise store an apple store, a bestbuy or a walmart or some other place.
     
  7. Miss Roxy

    Miss Roxy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    52
    12
    18
    MA
    California
    The unlimited $30 dollar plan doesn't exist anymore.
    It's now:
    200mb for $15
    2gb for $25
     
  8. tsanuri

    tsanuri Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    541
    44
    68
    Call customer service. It is avail to upgrade to the $30 unlimited plan. You are on the old $20 that is considered a smartphone plan and is unlimited.
     
  9. n7slc

    n7slc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    23
    0
    35
    tsansuri is correct. If you had the $20 unlimited plan on the 1st gen iPhone, then you can keep the unlimited data on a new iPhone but they will bump you to the $30 a month price of the now forever gone unlimited plan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...