1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How long can video be recorded on the HTC EVO 4G LTE?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chukrum47, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. chukrum47

    chukrum47 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    3
    2
    6
    So, last night I recorded a couple of videos on my HTC Evo 4g LTE. The first two were between 5 and 10 minutes, and they seem to be fine. However, the last one I took, I recorded for nearly 1 hour and 10 minutes (it informing me of the time on the screen as I went), but when I went to re-watch the video later, both on the phone or on the computer after transferring it, it says it only recorded 24 minutes and 35 seconds. What.

    I know for a fact I recorded for over an hour, and yet it only saved the first 24 minutes. Needless to say, I am rather upset about have lost nearly 40 minutes of footage, but perhaps there is a way to recover this footage, because the phone said it was recording the entire time. If not, then maybe someone could tell me why it cut-off, so I don't make the same mistake in the future.

    Also, it's not an issue of space: even after the videos were all taken, I have 1.52 Gb available on internal storage, 9.14 Gb available on phone storage, and 6.99 Gb available on the storage card.

    I used the default video recording app.

    Any help would be much appreciated!

    Preemptive thanks again!
     

    Advertisement

  2. RickJ

    RickJ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    258
    64
    53
    Could be mistaken, but pretty sure you hit the max file size. I believe it is still 2gb.

    To be more specific, that would be a fat32 file size limit, not the EVO's limitation per se. However, I would expect that there would be a notification that the video had stopped recording. Given the single file size limitation, there is not too much recording time available especially when recording in hd.

    *** actually just read the fat 32 max file size is 4gb, but do recall the OG EVO had a file size limit of 2gb, not sure what the mechanics behind this difference are or if the LTE shares the same file size limitation
     
  3. chukrum47

    chukrum47 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    3
    2
    6
    Yeah, I had thought about that but the size of the file that cut off was 522 Mb, so not even 1 Gb yet. Also, it never mentioned that it stopped recording and just continued to count upwards as it went so...hah.
     
  4. Sonin66

    Sonin66 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012

    Aug 25, 2012
    22
    5
    16
    Cleveland,OH
    just throwing this out there, but did you press any buttons by mistake?
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Linux addresses with signed arithmetic - so the 4 GB = + / - 2GB.

    As we can't have negative file sizes, the upper limit is 2 GB.

    Unless it rolled past the 2 GB limit. That would create a bit pattern for size that might confuse things.

    Think of rolling over the odometer in a car. It's kind of like that.

    Just speculation, I admit.

    Where did you record to, internal or external sd?
     
    RickJ and marctronixx like this.
  6. chukrum47

    chukrum47 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    3
    2
    6
    Haha sorry to disappoint, Sonin66, but I did not press any buttons by mistake :p

    And I recorded to the external sd card.

    Perhaps later today I"ll just set it up recording a wall for 1 hour+ and see if it times out again or anything...
     
    3vodroid and marctronixx like this.
  7. Sonin66

    Sonin66 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012

    Aug 25, 2012
    22
    5
    16
    Cleveland,OH
    just trying to throw out all possibilities! I would like to know what you find out, and see if it happens again in your "control"
     
  8. P_Dub

    P_Dub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    62
    19
    18
    I had an issue like this one time. I was recording something and had the shutter button slightly pressed trying to lock the exposure settings, which doesn't seem to work anymore on still shots. Anyways, it seems that it stopped recording the moment I barely pressed it, while the screen still showed it recording with a counter.

    This just came to my mind. What if it is the same issue that has to do with multitasking and reloading background programs?
     

Share This Page

Loading...