1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How long for first charge?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Zoandroid, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Just got my shiny new Note 10.1 wifi version. The supplied charger surprised me with the 0.35A rating stamped on it. I'd been told tablets don't charge by microUSB because their battery needed more than the typical 1A charge rate on many smartphones.

    So, how long should I expect this first charge to take? Looks to have been about half charged when I started.

    My other question to Samsung - if this can charge at such a low rate, what's with the proprietary charge connector? Why not use the typical microUSB?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,325
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,325
    47,588
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Hmmm....
    Everything I'm looking at online says it comes with a 2A charger, which would be in line with most other tablet chargers I have seen. Are you sure you are reading it right? Even plain USB out from a computer is .5A.
     
    Zoandroid likes this.
  3. Rockets

    Rockets Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    19
    5
    16
    Somethings wrong, mine is 2.1 amp which they recommend, that's about 8 hours if you are about empty, sure you can charge it with a lower amp charger but I expect it will take forever, more than overnight I expect which is what most of us want. (a full tank in the morning).
     
    Zoandroid likes this.
  4. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Yea, 2A makes a whole lot more sense. The print on the wallwart is very tiny. I thought I had read it as 0.35A but that is a value I've never seen on a charger. I'm not near it now, but I'll use a lighted magnifer later to check it again and get back to you. It did charge in about 3 hours.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  5. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    I was mistaken. It does have a 2A Output. The number I saw was the current draw for the Input to the charger. They have multiple languages all crammed together into single sentences, instead of listing separate paragraphs for each language, so that's what threw me.

    Thanks for helping me sort this out. :)
     
  6. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,325
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,325
    47,588
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I'm glad you all squared up Zo. I like the easy ones.:p

    Happy New Year:)
     
    Zoandroid likes this.
  7. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Here's a photo of the label. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Happy New Year to you too! Really, that 2A, now that I know where it is, kinda sticks right out, doesn't it? Don't know why I homed in on the 0.35A above it. Probably "new device fever". I had just opened the box. :D
     
  9. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    I'm debating going without rooting this thing, if only I could find some non-root app that would let me back things up like a nandroid does. Has anyone ever come up with something like that?
     
  10. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,325
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,325
    47,588
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I honestly haven't rooted my 2013 N7 yet either. Of the 8 or so devices I've owned, it is the first on. If you know how to turn on ADB debugging, you can check out this thread.

    http://androidforums.com/faqs/697582-backup-routine-us-all.html

    It isn't a Nandroid, but it will back up pretty much everything else.;)
     
  11. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Thanks!

    But as I read the thread and got to post 10 it is explained that it doesn't do system settings. My use of a nandroid is rather like the old Drive Image utility. An easy way to restore a device that has gotten hosed right back to the moment you made the backup, complete with all the apps and settings intact. Looks like nandroids are the only current way to do that.

    I know I can use ES File Explorer to keep APKs backed up, and I do the (real) SD card and internal memory manually copying it to my PC weekly. Some folks don't get why I back up the internal memory, but the main reason is that so many apps now see it as their target because it is often labeled as "sd card" on so many Android devices. Every time I find another app that doesn't allow me to choose the location for its backup of files and data I write the dev, explain this issue, and ask them to please make the choice of backup target location a user configurable option. Without being able to truly put the files on the REAL external SD card, if they are not also backed up they can be lost if the device fries. I've dealt with data loss due to that. No way to get it back.

    Copying files by USB can be a challenge since USB Mass Storage went out the window, but I learned that one thing blocking me from copying some of the files in the past is the insanely long path names of some of the internal memory files (I do them all, rather than picking which ones my apps created). Such paths can be found in the /Android and /Evernote folders of internal storage, so I avoid those 2 folders. Since doing that, I have not once had any more issues with files not copying over to a Windows PC.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  12. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,325
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,325
    47,588
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Yep, still one of the true benefits of root and a nandroid. I can't argue with you there.
     
  13. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Of the several devices I've rooted and ROM'd , only once did I get into trouble, and you good folks quickly came to the rescue! :) I think as long as a person reads a root thread completely and carefully follows all its steps the risks are far fewer than they once were.

    Thank you all for the help! :)
     
  14. Rockets

    Rockets Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    19
    5
    16
    LOL, Welcome to the club, been there, done that.
     
  15. Rockets

    Rockets Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    19
    5
    16
    Quick question, I am a bit vague on rooting, what I would like to do is remain fully stock but open up those protected areas so I can get a total full backup.

    Still want to be able to use the play store, still want updates, expect that is the Android version changes in an update I will have to re-root.

    Can one root just to open up the protected areas so one can use Titanium backup for a full backup and still use the play store, take updates and all that.

    Thanks
     
  16. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,325
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,325
    47,588
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Yes rockets, you can leave the device otherwise untouched and still have root. Most of my devices are that way. If you don't know what to look for, you wouldn't even be able to tell they are rooted.
     
    Rockets likes this.
  17. Rockets

    Rockets Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    19
    5
    16

    Thanks a ton, I shall take this over to the rooting section soon and get some details so I don't brick it. (actually if it's easy I am doing all three Note 8, 2014 10.1 and non 2014 10.1).
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  18. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Forgiven is correct, except maybe for the part about "taking updates". To my knowledge accepting an OTA update usually loses your root access. Although I have recently read about a utility that lets you somehow preserve root and get it back easily after the OTA update, but I don't know any details yet. I think it was called Root Keeper?
     

Share This Page

Loading...