1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How Many More Times?!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by singbluesilver, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    First, I hope everyone in this fair forum had a good holiday season. Second--so, I'm playing Angry Birds the other day when my phone just crashes. Fine, took the battery out for a minute (there really was no other way that time), put it back in, and rebooted my phone. For some strange reason, my space was gone. I had previously followed instructions to partition my SD card with success, but after this crash incident, seems like I never did it. When I go back into Mini Tool Partition Wizard, am I deleting those previous partitions I created? I'm so mad! Suddenly I only have 29.16 MB on the phone, 2.37 GB on the card, unacceptable! Will this happen every time I have a crash in this fashion? As usual, thanks for any help. How many more times, lol!
     

    Advertisement

  2. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    You don't need to do anything on your computer. Are you using link2sd
     
  3. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    Yes, that's what I'm using. How do I get my space back then?
     
  4. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Go into the menu of link2sd then select relink library files. Let me know if that works
     
  5. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    Eh, guess that didn't work, my space hasn't changed. I hope I don't have this issue every time my Irphone freezes or randomly restarts.
     
  6. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Set it to show what's on internal then relink those. It doesn't happen every time.
     
  7. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    I'll give that a go, thanks.
     
  8. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    Ugh, didn't work! Now what should I do?
     
  9. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Was anything there? Next thing is to manually relink the library files, set it to show you linked then sort by lib size then look at each one and if there's not an -> before the lib size you need to select the app then create link and make sure all three options are checked. Once you get to where the lib files are 0 that's it.
     
  10. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    Okay, so I did all that and got a little space back. I'm up to 67.20 MB internally, 2.36 GB on the card. The second partition on my card is actually down a bit in space, 89% free from 92%. Did that happen because of the linking I just did? I want to have enough space so that when I'm ready to flash a ROM (with this forum's help, no doubt!), I'll have the space for it. Oh, one more question--does clearing the app caches clear all that info on the app, like my Angry Birds for example? Does it help with space to clear it? Thanks for your help, Ben!
     
  11. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    No cache just clears extra stuff which will clear more memory. The partition went down because the apps linking your ok. Also check on sd and see if there's anything there. If there is just select it then select create link.
     
  12. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Your welcome
     
  13. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    You mean check my SD card to see if I can move stuff back to the internal memory? Sorry if I'm extra flaky today, I'm medicated. Seriously.
     
  14. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    There's an option in link2sd to see if anything is on sd
     
  15. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    Whoa, why does it say there's nothing on my SD card?! What in the world is going on?
     
  16. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    that just means nothing is installed to sd card the old way like with app2sd, thats good
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...