1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How Many Of You Are Using An After Market Launcher?...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PsychDoc, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. PsychDoc

    PsychDoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    202
    36
    43
    Hehe...guess
    NYC
    After reading rave after rave about Nova Launcher I decided to take the plunge. I'm not very techy so I had some fears that I would be overwhelmed by all the complexity but I have to say the process of switching over was pretty painless. And now I can see what everyone is raving about. The degree of flexibility and customization is amazing. The changes are not revolutionary, mind you, but it's great to have additional flexibility regarding appearance and icon/app/widget behavior.

    Any of you opting for an after market launcher go for anything other than Nova?

    If so, why?
     

    Advertisement

  2. red arrow

    red arrow Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    58
    6
    16
    Nova on the DNA here. It's great, lightning fast. I ran Launcher pro on my Dinc before this.
     
  3. WuBoy

    WuBoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

    Apr 3, 2011
    242
    39
    43
    Male
    I use Go Launcher EX. Hell I use damn near the whole Go Line: Keyboard, Contacts, Dialer, and SMS too.

    Sense isn't bad, but I just love the way you can customize things with your phone via Launchers and other programs. You can completely transform the way your phone looks. Since the display for the DNA is so great, I found a really minimalistic approach to set up my phone that really shows off the display but also give me easy access to everything I need. You can really do it with stock Android. I actually took a few screenshots, so might as well show them off.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. croppz

    croppz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    19
    2
    16
    MoCo, MD
    Using Nova launcher/Prime. Great launcher, nice and fast.
     
  5. PatyCake

    PatyCake Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    96
    10
    18
    Nova launcher here too, quick and smooth. Havent noticed a difference in battery life though, anyone know why?
     
  6. PsychDoc

    PsychDoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    202
    36
    43
    Hehe...guess
    NYC
    Are you suggesting that Nova uses more or less battery power than the stock launcher.

    In either case do you have any links that would suggest this?
     
  7. Lykarsis

    Lykarsis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    300
    82
    53
    Male
    Pizza Making, People Wrangling and PC Fixing
    Ohio
    On the DNA in particular, I imagine that Nova uses less batter and CPU than the stock Rosie launcher does. Sense is a very heavy UI overall and Nova is based on Stock android with several customization's added.

    I run Nova on all of my devices as it is always the smoothest launcher I can find. I don't have any data to back that up mind you, but I have always found that the Rosie launcher on any phone uses more battery, RAM and CPU than most third party launchers. The one exception being Holo Launcher HD. That one always sucks a lot of resources, although I hear a lot of people have more luck than I do with it.
     
  8. WuBoy

    WuBoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

    Apr 3, 2011
    242
    39
    43
    Male
    Doesn't Sense always run in the background though? So no matter what extra launcher you use, Sense will always drain some battery.
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,526
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,526
    22,967
    3,118
    Scotland
    Yep, you can remove active widgets on sense to limit the drain though (although it's minimal anyway).
     
  10. Damar1979

    Damar1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    293
    49
    43

    Exactly how is that done?
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,526
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,526
    22,967
    3,118
    Scotland
    Just switch back to Sense as the default launcher, remove the widgets as you would normally and then put Nova/Apex etc back as your default.
     
  12. Phatninja55

    Phatninja55 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012

    Jan 26, 2012
    766
    219
    123
    Male
    Illinios
    I use halo launcher, I like it very much.
    It's pretty fast, and its ics themed.
     
  13. unccman

    unccman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    91
    70
    53
    Charlotte, NC
    After seeing this posted over at Lifehacker, I decided to recreate it and have been very happy with how slick this looks. I've had several compliments on it already.

    [​IMG]

    You can follow the same instructions I did if you'd like to recreate :)
     
  14. Lykarsis

    Lykarsis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    300
    82
    53
    Male
    Pizza Making, People Wrangling and PC Fixing
    Ohio
    Sense is the UI, so unless you install a ROM that doesn't have sense, then yes it will be running. You are using it so it can't go to sleep. The Rosie launcher (the sense launcher) is another story. You could always root and remove it. But if you don't want to do that, just select your alternate launcher as default and restart. The Rosie launcher will hibernate until you select it again.
     
  15. geli7

    geli7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    46
    2
    16
    I recently started using Nova and am having some issues with the phone often reverting to sense. When I opened Nova for the first time, I got the message asking which launcher I would like to use as the default and I selected Nova. Every now and again though I’ll notice that the launcher is sense. Whenever I hit the home button it reverts back to Nova, but it’s kind of annoying. It’s hard for me to come up with examples of which apps make the launcher revert but one that I’ve definitely noticed is google talk. If I back out of the app rather than hitting home, it’s the Sense launcher rather than Nova.
    Also, I don’t know if this is any way related but it might be, this morning my alarm went off at the wrong time. It was set for 6:30 AM, it went off at 6:40 AM. The clock on the phone indicated 6:40 AM. I use the clock app that comes stock with the phone, is it possible it runs off the sense launcher and that one had the wrong time? I never had an issue with the alarm clock going off at the wrong time prior to changing launchers.
    Anybody know what’s going on? Any help is appreciated, thanks!
     
  16. Lykarsis

    Lykarsis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    300
    82
    53
    Male
    Pizza Making, People Wrangling and PC Fixing
    Ohio
     
  17. exmobR

    exmobR Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    I'm so content with action launcher, give me the hide apps option and I'd be ecstatic lol.
     
  18. CrackedLCD

    CrackedLCD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013

    Jan 17, 2013
    149
    17
    58
    Male
    Driving Miss Daisy
    LA (Lower Alabama)
    I'm using Go Launcher, as well as several other products of theirs. I like it pretty well and it's really smooth on the DNA; I have it mostly set up the same on my Galaxy S Showcase and it's very laggy there.

    One thing that puzzles me though is I cannot seem to get back to the stock launcher. On the GSS it's as simple as exiting Go Launcher in the settings, or removing the default. Only on the DNA there's no default listed for Go and exit only reloads Go Launcher again. Short of uninstalling it, I dunno how to get back to Sense (I never actually checked it out when I got the phone so I may have widgets running there, draining the battery!)
     
  19. Lykarsis

    Lykarsis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    300
    82
    53
    Male
    Pizza Making, People Wrangling and PC Fixing
    Ohio
    Have you tried going to settings>apps>go launcher and force close it then clear defaults?
     
  20. CrackedLCD

    CrackedLCD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013

    Jan 17, 2013
    149
    17
    58
    Male
    Driving Miss Daisy
    LA (Lower Alabama)
    That didn't work, but it led me to the solution and I feel like such a mallet-head for not figuring it out myself: I have Go Locker installed and it acts as the home screen program instead of Go Launcher. I cleared its default and was able to get back to Sense.

    Now that I've played with Sense, it's actually not as bad as I thought it would be. I don't like the limitation of 16 apps per folder but the transparent status bar is a nice touch. There's an option to enable transparent status bar in Go Launcher but it doesn't seem to work.

    Turns out I did have a few widgets on the Sense screens, so I deleted all of them and eliminated all but a few basic home screens to see if it makes a difference with the battery. Tonight's going to be a good test: I started off today with 100% at 3 pm and I'm already down to 69% and all I've done so far is play around with Sense and Go Launcher.
     
  21. Lykarsis

    Lykarsis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    300
    82
    53
    Male
    Pizza Making, People Wrangling and PC Fixing
    Ohio
    Glad you figure it out:) have you tried ADWex launcher? it has a lot of themes and Icon packs and is really good for anyone who loves customization but is tired of Go Launcher.
     
    CrackedLCD likes this.
  22. funkbucket007

    funkbucket007 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    86
    19
    18
    Male
    Firefighter
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    I use Nova Prime on my DNA, Nexus 7 and Galaxy Nexus. Love it.
     
  23. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    Nova Prime for me
     
  24. victek

    victek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #371
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    468
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    468
    65
    63
    I decided to try Nova since I've been using Widget Locker for a while. They are both made by TeslaCoil Software and they get along well. There's also an add-on called TeslaUnread which adds unread message and missed call counters to the appropriate icons - works in both Nova and Widget Locker.
     

Share This Page

Loading...