1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How much memory is enough?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DSSSE, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. DSSSE

    DSSSE Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    My Eris is always hovering around 25-30 megs of RAM available. Is that enough to properly run the phone? Or do I have a problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Gevis

    Gevis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    314
    15
    38
    That's up to you. I always keep mine above 50ish. If you're phone seems responsive, then it's fine, if it's feeling laggy, there may be a few different things you could do.
     
  3. DSSSE

    DSSSE Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    It has been lagging. Is it just a matter of using a talk killer.
     
  4. Gevis

    Gevis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    314
    15
    38
    Have you cleared your caches? Also, I use TasKiller. I don't autokill, which I think is pretty counter productive, but usually clearing your cache will speed it up. Task Killers are debateable, I usually just use it to make sure nothing is draining my battery in the background.
     
  5. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    875
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    875
    455
    113
    QA Engineer
    San Diego, CA.
  6. Gevis

    Gevis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    314
    15
    38
    I would like to point out that just because Android is programmed to do something, doesn't mean all the apps comply with this. Perhaps on the memory side of things, but I know when I open up google maps, it activates my GPS, which is fine and dandy. I then exit Google Maps. Sometimes it will automatically turn my GPS, sometimes it will not. I have similar problems with apps like Aloqua.

    My philosophy is there are some apps I shouldn't kill (Like Clock, Calender, and Taskiller doesn't even give the option to kill more essential processes), but in the end, I don't see any reason to keep Snesoid or Pandora running it the background because the only thing they could be doing sitting there in the background is draining my battery.
     
  7. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    When I was running TasKiller I was normally running around 30-40megs and saw it as high as 101megs when everything was killed. But now I don't pay any attention and my phone never seems to lag.
     

Share This Page

Loading...