1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General how much ram are you using?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by _sC, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. _sC

    _sC Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    125
    15
    38
    happy holidays everyone,

    i've been sitting here messing around with my phone, customizing, when this question came to mind, so i figured i'd post here.

    so, how much are you using?

    please "clear memory" before you post your figure!

    heres mine:

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. skimminstones

    skimminstones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #478
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    335
    52
    53
  3. _sC

    _sC Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    125
    15
    38
    ooo niiice. is that the beta 2 ur running?

    im guessing ics is the only thing u have running? no crazy wallpapers or widgets that suck up juice?
     
  4. srikat

    srikat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    14
    18
    Male
    Bangalore, India
    When I go to Settings -> Applications -> Memory usage, I see these tabs: Downloaded, All, On SD card, Running.

    Where do I go to get screen similar to the above screenshots?
     
  5. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    You are looking at the wrong place. Look under Task Manager and RAM tab.

    Cheers
     
  6. srikat

    srikat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    14
    18
    Male
    Bangalore, India
  7. skimminstones

    skimminstones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #478
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    335
    52
    53
    no, im on checkrom v4 with an ics theme
     
  8. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,397
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,397
    5,596
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    Not sure how this helps you... but here goes...

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,994
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    [​IMG]

    Real-life usage, after 101hrs uptime.
     
  10. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,855
    958
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    What many people won't realize is that YOUR usage is more desirable. People are conditioned to believe that using less RAM is better. What they need to realize is that available RAM is wasted RAM. It's why Vista SP1+, Win7, and Mac OSX develop better performance over time. Applications, when "closed" remain dormant in memory so that they can be recalled quicker. If the system needs RAM, it drops the least used or least recently used application(s) in order to free up the necessary space. (These desktop OSs actually do far more than that, but that's no relevant here).

    By clearing your RAM you're not improving performance. All you're doing is telling your system that the next time you want to load a specific app it's going to have to do so from scratch. This increases both load time and battery consumption.

    The only applications that should be closed, if you deem necessary, are active applications that are using CPU cycles. Rogue apps that continually abuse the CPU after being "closed" are the true resource hogs that need to be killed.
     
    SebaKL, Remeniz and Slug like this.
  11. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    I hover around 300-350mb, so that's pretty standard. Obviously a graphics-intensive game can knock it up another 100 or so, that's about it.

    I agree higher usage means you're getting a lot more out of it! Of course, when it's idle at night, you want it as low as possible to minimise battery drain.
     
  12. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Noticed that if clear RAM, sometimes it helps to keep Voice Command from restarting and running and draining battery after you already closed it.
     
  13. androidmallesh

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    2
    0
    25
  14. Noobster

    Noobster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Usually when i don't restart my phone for over 72 hours the RAM usage is around 500 - 560 which is the highest i've seen. My usual RAM usage depends on how much i use the phone, usually since i just let it sit there and i do a restart every 48 hours approximately my RAM usage is around 350 - 450 but i would say that the normal RAM usage is around 500 - 560! :D:D
     
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,994
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The amount of RAM used has no bearing on battery consumption. Android keeps inactive apps/processes in RAM if possible, but if these aren't consuming processor cycles i.e. working then they use negligible power. Using a Twitter client as an example, it will occupy RAM but if it only polls for updates every 4hrs then it will only become active briefly at that interval and then use the battery. If it happens overnight and the screen remains off the drain will be miniscule.
     
    Kie likes this.
  16. _sC

    _sC Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    125
    15
    38
    oh wow i thought i was the only one with tons of stuff running on my memory, i guess not!

    and to whomever asked: i had his initial question because i checked with my friends phones and the figures were all low, so i was wondering how much more crap i was running vs them. thats all..

    thanks for the replies guys.
     
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,994
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    You're missing the point - it might be in RAM but it's not necessarily running (active) right now. And just because it's inactive doesn't mean that it's superfluous. Not to labour the point, but Android functions in a completely different way to Windows.
     
  18. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Ok, so the clear memory is really only useful if you're nearing full capacity and need to free up some more...which on the SGS2 is almost never.

    I can't imagine what I'd need to have to top 500mb after all my running apps have been closed (without clearing memory of course). I use my SGS2 for everything and it's still only around 350!
     
  19. dunjamon

    dunjamon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    351
    16
    58
    Mine tend to start off at around 200/300 mb and then over a couple of days will go up to about 500/600 mb. No idea why, but a reboot every couple of days seems to be the way forward for me.
     
  20. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,994
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The only point at which "Clear memory" would be helpful would be if you had a misbehaving app leaking memory (used RAM figure keeps increasing) or in a runaway state (consuming all CPU cycles). Under normal circumstances the device RAM will never approach 'full capacity' as the OS periodically performs clean-up operations.

    My old HTC Hero is seriously RAM-limited and normally operates with around 30MB free. Even so I've yet to see a "low memory" warning from it, let alone an app fail to run. Android's resource management really is very good.
     
  21. aelshinnawy

    aelshinnawy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    16
    0
    15
    I would worry only about the consumed memory if I have problems starting applications with insufficient memory error. otherwise just leave it as it is , this is working as designed, just FYI, my GS2 is not restarted for the last 8 days and running at around 600 MB RAM, no problems at all . so no problems need no actions.
     
  22. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

  23. Fla_Boi321

    Fla_Boi321 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013

    Mar 10, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Im just curious why all of a sudden mi ram is running high when normally I run around 290-350 on average now im in the 5-600s
     
  24. psydex

    psydex Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    44
    5
    36
    Male
  25. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,397
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,397
    5,596
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England

Share This Page

Loading...