1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How much RAM do you have?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jr1125, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. jr1125

    jr1125 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    308
    8
    36
    mine is showing right now at 29%
    this is after closing some apps through system manager (apps i havent opened in a while)

    was wondering why is my RAM so low?
    whats your RAM look like?
    any tips to make it better?
    run smoother?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Raptor912

    Raptor912 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    405
    76
    53
    Operations Director-International Relations and Se
    SoCal (Formerly in LV & PacNW)
    Mine is showing 54%. It is usually between 50%-62% consistently.
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Where or how are you checking this?
     
  4. Raptor912

    Raptor912 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    405
    76
    53
    Operations Director-International Relations and Se
    SoCal (Formerly in LV & PacNW)
    System Panel
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Hmm, I don't see where to specifically check the available RAM unless it's just the "storage" reading at the top, mine is usually at around 79%.
     
  6. Raptor912

    Raptor912 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    405
    76
    53
    Operations Director-International Relations and Se
    SoCal (Formerly in LV & PacNW)
    yeah, my storage level is at 87%. There is a graph to the left of that showing memory average. I am usually around 52% on average.

    It also shows current CPU usage.
     
  7. Raptor912

    Raptor912 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    405
    76
    53
    Operations Director-International Relations and Se
    SoCal (Formerly in LV & PacNW)
  8. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Free memory is wasted memory.

    Don't worry about it unless you're finding a performance impact.
     
  9. Kellter

    Kellter Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Just checked mine Im Max: 476Mo Free: 51Mo. So I'm using 90%. Plus my quadrants are in mid 1100s, used to get upper 1200s. Is there a way to check what is using ram?

    Edit: Battery pull and I'm 54%.
     
  10. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    800
    76
    78
    FL
    When my phone gets down to 50 mb left it gets slow. If I don't kill off stuff before I browse I can lose what I'm looking at. I was browsing with 3 tabs open and all of a sudden all the tabs said they were shut down due to memory. When I looked my phone had stuff I've never even opened before in memory and killed the app Iwas using instead of all the crap I don't use or rarely use.
     
  11. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,440
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    1,440
    125
    143
    Looking for work!
    Florida
    Here we go again! The task killer debate marches onward.
     
    syntrix likes this.
  12. Dtatch

    Dtatch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    129
    25
    43
    Man I wish people really understood how true this is. ITS LINUX NOT WINDOWS!!!!! Performance doesn't depreciate when more memory is in use.
     
  13. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    800
    76
    78
    FL
    We need a launch manager app so there would be no need for a task killer. Something that would prevent the apps you chose from using up memory, or restarting 5 seconds after you disable them like amazon mp3, blockbuster and other useless apps.
     
  14. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313

    The only problem with that is the CPU will be used even more which will cause the battery to drain faster.
     
  15. drhill

    drhill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    762
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    762
    186
    103
    On any kernels before .33 you only have access to 256MB ram. This includes the 2.2 froyo leak even though froyo is supposed to be .33
     
  16. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    +1.

    [​IMG]

    Sounds like the complaint when Windows 7 came out b/c it used more memory and people were complaining about the instability it was going to cause, which of course wasn't the case.
     
    syntrix likes this.
  17. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ

    the android sdk lists this
    2.6.32 kernel upgrade


    • HIGHMEM support for RAM >256MB
    • SDIO scheduling and BT improvements
    we're running 2.6.32.9 on the leak...where is the .33 coming from?
     
  18. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,684
    225
    163
    Male
    Intel fab tech
    Salem, OR
    I'm running stock 2.1 on my DX, and I can see 476.0 MB of memory with 422.0 MB memory used, so it seems like my DX can see and use more than 256 MB of RAM. Why is that? Kernal 2.6.29, by the way.

    By the way, the phone is running fine with all that RAM used, so I'm not going to sweat it. Not running any task killer, never had a problem. Of course, I've only had it for a couple weeks, but I know Linux is different than Windows, so as long as it's running fine, I'm not going to do anything about it.
     
  19. jr1125

    jr1125 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    308
    8
    36
    no TK here either but wondering how do you all have so much RAM left?
     
  20. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.
    +1. when you clear out the memory, all that means is that your system isnt keeping the most used processes readily available. and when they're not readily available, they take longer to open/process. a properly running system will utilize as much memory as possible, while leaving just enough open for new processes. this will keep the device running at peak capacity.
    it doesnt seem all that hard to understand, but for some reason, people think more free memory = better. but, what good is free memory?? unused memory = wasted memory.
    task killers are counter-productive on high-memory devices. they use valuable clock cycles, only to keep the device from keeping applications readily available for use.

    of course, that's just my $.02
     
  21. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,418
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    '
    You answered you own question there! :D:D
     
  22. drhill

    drhill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    762
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    762
    186
    103
    You know what. I must have got the numbers in my head confused. Thanks.

    2.1 is running .29 which doesn't give us the extra ram though some apps report that it is there.
     
  23. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I have 15% free (72 megs), which (if I did the calculation properly) means that I have a total of 467 megs with OTA Froyo. Guess that's > 256 mb so I'm happy.
     
  24. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT

Share This Page

Loading...