1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How much storage do I have really?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ZeroZanzibar, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. ZeroZanzibar

    ZeroZanzibar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Arizona
    I just got my RAZR phone on Friday and the salesman said I was getting a bit of an upgrade over the 100 dollar version of the RAZR because they were out of those. I paid 150 (subsidized rate, of course). Still less than what I had planned to buy (and, yay, they finally did it without messing with my very nice, legacy voice plan).

    When I look at the phone under Windows Explorer via USB, there are three drives as follows:

    There is a "kind of" CD ROM called MotoCast that seems to auto-install itself on every new Windows box I plug it into. Says 72.4 MB

    The second one, which is my "internal storage" shows only 8 GB.

    The third, which appears to be the "SD card", shows about 16 GB.

    Neither amount corresponds to what I remember being told.

    I know which drive is which because I saved some stuff using Quick Office that I labelled with the name of the storage it went into; so I know what is what.

    But, I'm a little puzzled as to exactly what I got here. I wanted the phone and was planning to pay more than I did anyway, but I would like to know what I was actually buying; doesn't correspond exactly to what I was told (I think).

    I'm very experienced with computers, but new to smart phones. I studied the market a while, but you'd never know it from what I see today.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Grey1001

    Grey1001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    538
    91
    78
    NorCal
    this

     
    ZeroZanzibar likes this.
  3. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    You can always put a 64gb sd in it and never worry about memory again. :)
     
  4. leela222

    leela222 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    25
    1
    16
    I bought my Razr and my wife's in February when they had the BOG0 deal for the 16GB. Price was 150 for both after my 50 dollar upgrade. I then bought a 32GB class 4 Sandisk Micro SD card on ebay for $22.85. Had to go with the class 4 over the class 10 as the class 10 gave me problems. It was not reading all of my pictures (about 500 of them) and it only was reading less than 1/2 of my itunes. When I got the Class 4...boom..no problems whatsoever with my pics and entire itunes library.
     
    ZeroZanzibar likes this.
  5. ZeroZanzibar

    ZeroZanzibar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Arizona
    Does the device support that much storage? My quick reading of the specs suggests 32 GB is the limit. Or, is that just what they are willing to sell.

    What is the limit, other than my wallet :) ?
     
  6. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    $64GB Works on razr. So yea basically your wallet. :)
     
    ZeroZanzibar likes this.
  7. ZeroZanzibar

    ZeroZanzibar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Arizona
    Thanks!

    Now, a different but semi-related question.

    Exactly what gets stored on SD cards? (I really _am_ just starting out here).

    It appears no apps get stored there. The QR freebie app seems to prefer the SD card for its data and the camera app lets me pick where to put things.

    How do I make effective use of the SD card. Can I put apps there or doesn't that make any sense at all?

    I ask because a 64 GB card is soooooo much bigger than the 8gb or so of internal storage left over (not that 8 GB is a triffling amount, but still...)
     
  8. ZeroZanzibar

    ZeroZanzibar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Arizona
    So, RAZR struggles with higher speed cards? Tell me more. Usually, those things tend to be minimums....
     
  9. leela222

    leela222 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    25
    1
    16
    Well for me it did. I have read on other forums where people have had no problems with the class 10, that is why I purchased it. My first purchase on ebay was a class 10 no name brand...I had issues, but it was because it kept reading that the card was damaged. I returned it and then ordered a Kingston 32GB class 10. Tried twice to sync my itunes with it and iSyncr went through the process with no errors in about an 1 1/2 hrs but out of over 2,000 songs, under 1,000 were copied.

    I believe somewhere Motorola only recommends a class 4, so I then purchased it and I have had zero issues with it. My entire itunes library is on that card (about 14GB) and now over 500 pictures. And with the class 4 it only took a little over an hour to sync the almost 14 GBs of songs.
     
  10. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    Im running a 32gig Sandisk class 6. Very fast and works great. Lots of people have no problems with class 10 cards. You do have to watch out for fakes however which is why i stuck with a well known brand card.
     
  11. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    464
    32
    63
    Earth
    they didn't even give me an external SD with mine. I had to use my 8gb one out of my X2
     
  12. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI

    You didn't have to pay $50-$100 extra for an sd card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...