1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How much storage is required for Android 6 update?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by tomste, May 25, 2016.

  1. tomste

    tomste Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hi everyone,

    I'm trying to update my HTC Desire 820 to Android 6 but whatever I do, I always get the message about insufficient storage being available. I deleted virtually every app, photos, videos, I cleaned the cache and core app updates. I'm left with 5.4 GB of free space and have no idea what to do next. How much storage is required for this update and how can I get there?
     

    Advertisement

  2. badcatz

    badcatz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    239
    210
    88
    Male
    I had somewhere around 5 GB free when I installed it on my Droid Maxx 2. That should be plenty of space. I'm guessing you've already tried restarting your phone?
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,295
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,295
    33,827
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Do you have a huge SMS/MMS database? Or Logcat? those can sometimes grow and consume too much system memory.

    Try running RAM Truth by our very own @scary alien and report back.

    Since you seem to be cleaning our your phone anyway, you might try a factory reset and then updating to 6. I'd recommend a factory reset anyway.
     
    KOLIO, scary alien and badcatz like this.
  4. tomste

    tomste Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 25, 2016

    May 25, 2016
    1
    1
    6
    Male
    Yes, many times. I resolved this issue just now by reseting my phone and clearing all data. Thanks.
     
    badcatz likes this.
  5. badcatz

    badcatz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    239
    210
    88
    Male
    I was planning on doing a reset after I upgraded to Marshmallow but so far haven't seen any reason to. I almost always did a hard reset after an upgrade.
     
    #5 badcatz, May 25, 2016
    Last edited: May 25, 2016
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...