1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How often is the "dead pixels" problem?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MiRaGe, Dec 9, 2009.

?

Do you have dead pixels on ypur Hero while booting?

Poll closed Jan 8, 2010.
  1. Yes, I have some

    36.4%
  2. No, I dont have any

    63.6%
  3. I haven't mentioned till now

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. MiRaGe

    MiRaGe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    84
    2
    16
    Hi guys!
    I'd like ask all of you how often is this problem in Hero series?
    I bought one a month ago and it has some stucked pixels, but I heard that the chance of getting even worse phone is bigger, so I decided to keep this one, because these dots are practically invisible during the common work with the phone.
    I can see one or two if I set the brightness level to full, but thats my second question- how many of you use brightness on full or you do prefere to keep it on automatic? I discovered that on manual setting the phone loses light sensor function, am I right?
     

    Advertisement

  2. gnarlyDUCK

    gnarlyDUCK Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    210
    8
    56
    Orlando, FL
    This is the first time ive heard about it, had the phone since its been out in the US.
     
  3. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    109
    0
    55
    building preservation
    kent, UK
    When I start up my phone I have 2 visable dead pixels but like you say once using the phone in full flow they can't be seen, not a problem to me unless it gets worse.
     
  4. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    I don't have any..
     
  5. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    I don't think its very common on the hero to be honest
     
  6. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    Is this a Sprint hero
     
  7. MiRaGe

    MiRaGe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    84
    2
    16
    Nope, it's pure Hero
     
  8. rizzla

    rizzla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009

    Jul 18, 2009
    152
    4
    36
    London, UK
    yeah i have one, you don't notice it after it boots up, never knew what that was :)
     
  9. chaz_uk

    chaz_uk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    I have none thankfully!
     
  10. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    I've got 4.

    Theyre only visible during boot (probably cos the backlight gets ramped up to max on a black background) so it's really not a problem for me.
     
  11. MiRaGe

    MiRaGe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    84
    2
    16
    So... let see.. from all opinions in three forums I've got:

    - 38 people don't have any dead pixels

    - 34 do have this issue....that's sad result for such a great device like Hero. HTC should be more careful about us- the clients...
     
  12. PaulC

    PaulC Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009

    Sep 30, 2009
    35
    1
    16
    Both of mine have 2 on each (towards the top edge), can only see them during boot when the screen is at full brightness, when it dims to my usual level and the phone is in use, they're impossible to see.
     
  13. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    HTC dont make the screens, they buy them in, same as most manufacturers do (except probably samsung?). LCD screens suffer from dead pixels, it's just a fact of life with the technology at the pixel densities theyre trying to achieve.

    ALL manufacturers phones have them. Even the saintly and perfect iphone.

    The only way to reduce dead pixels is to test all of the screens you buy and throw away the ones that have them. And guess what, that means your phone will cost another 50 - 100 quid.

    All that extra cash for you to spend and all those lost sales for HTC (because lots of people will refuse to buy at the more expensive price) in order to have a screen that provides NO VISIBLE DIFFERENCE DURING NORMAL USE.
     
  14. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    I have one, but like most people here, it is down in the bottom right and I can only see it during boot up.

    I had 5 on my first PSP, all in a cluster right in the middle of the screen. That went back straight away... Unfortunatly stuck / dead pixels are just a problem that comes with LCD's, it is no more a problem on the Hero than it is on any other device with an LCD
     
  15. MattW

    MattW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    68
    2
    16
    IT researcher
    Cheshire, UK
    I've no idea if I've got dead pixels.

    That is to say - I see no dead pixels in normal use of any phone function. As I've not rebooted my phone in two weeks I don't know if there will be any at boot up but if there are I'm not going to worry about it. As others have said no lcd panel is perfect, it just depends on whether any defect affects normal operation.
     
  16. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    Bottom middle but can only see on black sceen/boot up. Once up and running not often noticed.

    It is annoying to know it is there though...
     
  17. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    Funnily enough, the only device I have ever had dead pixels on is my iPod touch :p
     
  18. fantasytozi

    fantasytozi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    32
    0
    15
    Oxford, UK
    Dead pixels really truly don't matter, no great impact, just enjoy ur phone
     
  19. MiRaGe

    MiRaGe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    84
    2
    16
    yeah, maybe you're right..
     
  20. jsp_1983

    jsp_1983 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    123
    0
    35
    Bum
    Blackpool, UK
    I have one dead pixel, top centre, during boot-up, which I noticed it on switching it on for the first time (cue feeling of dread at the prospect of having to arrange a courier to collect it, return it to 3, wait for them to exchange it and then post a replacement out to me).

    It's the first phone I've had that's come with a dead pixel and I was surprised to learn that it's a common occurrence with the Hero.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...