1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Root How the hell do I unlock my bootloader with a broken power button?! AHHG

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cocomonkilla, Feb 20, 2011.

1. cocomonkilla

cocomonkilla Lurker

I'm trying to install Cyanogen so I can wake my phone with the trackball as my power button has completely stopped working. I've gotten to the point where I need to unlock the bootloader, but when I do the oem unlock through fastboot, the warning screen needs to user the power button to continue :(. Any way around this?

Advertisement

2. cocomonkilla

cocomonkilla Lurker

it did the unlock but now I can't go into recovery without the power button! what do i doooo

3. Rusty

Rusty Android Expert

adb reboot recovery, or install Quickboot

4. michaeljien

michaeljien Lurker

i am having the same problem!

My power button does not respond!

cocomonkilla, were u able to find another solution to do the root??

I am a total noob on this subject...

can you please guide me thru step by step how to get to tracking ball wake?

THANKS A LOT~!!!

5. krtecek007

krtecek007 Lurker

well, although QuickBoot helps you get one step further, the power button is still needed for the selections/confirmations in all remaining steps

so till now no luck with getting no-OTA gingerbread update with NexusOne with broken power button

6. Rusty

Rusty Android Expert

Ah, I forgot a step! Use ROM Manager (or fastboot) to flash a custom recovery, and use that to flash the OTA update, after turning off sig verification.

krtecek007 likes this.
  7. krtecek007

krtecek007 Lurker

you lost me after "use that to flash the OTA update, after turning off sig verification"

please send more info or link...

e.g. i have now installed/flashed "RA-passion-2.2.1" ([Recovery] [07-Jan-2011] RA-passion-v2.2.1 - xda-developers) but i'm still not able to move any further, operation with power button are still present in the requested steps

Thanks!