1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

How to advertise a new Android game?

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by pkingsley, Sep 26, 2011.

1. pkingsley

pkingsley Lurker
    None

Sep 26, 2011
    Hey,

I've just released my first Android app, "Hungry Ducks Free", on the Android market and had over 1000 downloads in the first 2 days. Now it has been on the market for a week it is getting very few downloads, I guess no one is going to try randomly searching for Hungry Ducks!

I'm new to all of this and don't really know what the next step is to go about getting people to find my game on the store. I don't really want to have to pay for advertising for it seeing as though I am giving it away for free.

If anyone has any ideas I would really appreciate hearing them.

Thanks!

Phil

Advertisement

2. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum

Jun 12, 2010
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to Android Forums, Phil!

I can give you a little advice, seeing as how I've been in the advertising business for the past 30 years in some form or another. You have three options.

The first one you are already doing ... nothing. Hoping, by some miracle the world discovers your app and you become a phenom. Could happen, but highly unlikely. You have just as much chance as hitting the lottery ... twice (and you'd make more money with the lottery.)

The second thing you could do is what most commercial enterprises do ... they hire someone to market their product for them, which they pay for, usually in large sums.