1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to backup EVERYTHING?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by romeodakins, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    I'm gonna switch to a new phone so how do I backup EVERYTHING so I can transfer, I want to save all the game data of all my games too so I don't have to start over. Before I didn't back up so I had to redownload all my apps and replay every game. So I want to make sure everything is backed up correctly this time.
     

    Advertisement

  2. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    the easiest way is to root your phone and use titanium backup to backup everything. (systems settings, apps, app data), when you get your replacement root again and then restore with titanium backup.

    Titanium Backup

    motofail run the run file once it is unzipped.
     
    romeodakins likes this.
  3. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    This would, of course, assume that you were going to root the new phone in order to restore the data. The only other warning is that if you buy a different model phone, you should be careful about restoring system files on the new phone (the apps colored red or green in titanium.) things may work, but phones with different frameworks may not store system data in the same way.

    If you are not going to root, my backup may be able to restore apps and data.
     
    romeodakins and OutOfPhase like this.
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,020
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    There are two points that i think are important to make ...

    When he root-s his phone he is assuming responsibility for it. Root-ing will not introduce a problem. The fact that it is root-ed and soime of the guards are down will almost guarantee that he will introduce a problem by mistake. He will have to solve that without help from Motorola or Verizon. He needs to understand that and be ready.

    If he is restoring to anything other than exactly the same model of phone it is likely to not work when restored. It might not work even if restored to the same model phone. The problem with restoring data from an old phone to a new one is that you "take along the old problems" and things seem to work fine for a while and the odd problems start cropping up. You never know for sure if it was an old problem from the old phone or a new problem from something you did no the new phone.

    I always reinstall from scratch and use it as an opportunity to clean up things I never got around to cleaning up on the old phone.

    As for game data ... the game should support storing data on the SD-Ext card and you should be able to dump/restore a few of those files as a special case when moving form one phone to another.

    ... Thom
     
    romeodakins and OutOfPhase like this.
  5. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    I dont want to root my phone and i dont plan to. I dont really care about backing up everything, only all of my game apps and the save data of it. Any simple way to just backup the apps?
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,020
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I don't have the game app you originally mentioned installed (I would but it is not free and something I would never use).

    Does the app have the ability to store the data on the SD-ext card? If it does then having the author segregate the data there would take a lot of the unknowns away.

    If it doesn't and you use it and other games a lot (I don't) contact the game authors and press them for the capability.

    Optionally getting the data on the SD-ext card seems to me like the solution to a lot of your concerns. With it you could reinstall the app on a new phone from distribution and then just copy your data files for that game.

    ... Thom
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    Just to clarify, when I say "my backup" I mean the app My Backup in the play store. Search for it; the app works for 30 days without paying the $4.99 Pro app.
     
  8. fatpomp

    fatpomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    272
    114
    68
    Male
    Welder/Fabricator
    Los Angeles, Ca
    He would need the pro version. The 30 day one will only let you restore on the same device so it would not work on the replacement.
     
    doogald likes this.
  9. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    So would I need the to install the pro version on this device AND my new device so it would cost me 10$?
     
  10. SFWB

    SFWB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    427
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    427
    27
    53
    Male
    IT Hardware/Network Specialist
    Florida's Nature Coast
    No. once you buy it its bound to your market account and you can download it onto your new device.
     
  11. fatpomp

    fatpomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    272
    114
    68
    Male
    Welder/Fabricator
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Like SFWB said you would only have to buy it once but i was just reading the description and I don't think you should waste your money because it wont do what you want to do anyways. All it will do for you is backup the .apks (apps) it wont backup app data unless your phone is rooted. Sorry to say but the only way to achieve what you want to do is to root your phone but you don't want to do that.
     
  12. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    I want to at least save the data on games where i have worked hard on so can i just manual find the data of all my apps and put it in my new phone? I know temple run is able to do that because i did it before but i tried mini motor racing and a bunch of other apps and it didnt work.
     
  13. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    Ok I used mybackup pro and backed up all my apps to sd card but it only backedup the apks. How do I backup the app data now? I don't really care about the apks since I can just download them off of the app store but I really need to save my app data because some games I spent hours playing and I don't want to start over.
     
  14. fatpomp

    fatpomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    272
    114
    68
    Male
    Welder/Fabricator
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Like we said before the only way is to root your phone. I told you mybackup pro would only backup the .apks and not the data. Why not just root your phone, use titanium backup and then unroot?
     
  15. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    I don't know how to root and it takes too much time to learn and I don't want to brick my phone. Isn't all game save data saved in the Android folder, why do you need to root to get the game data? Where is it all saved in?
     
  16. rdsok

    rdsok Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #192
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    280
    70
    53
    romeodakins,

    You are making a newb mistake... assuming. Each programmer has their own method of where they are going to save data simply because there is no standard location for it.

    Since there is no standard... Some of the locations that the data may be stored in may not be in a location that certain security settings would normally allow you to copy from if you are not rooted. By being rooted you get around that type of obstacle ( if it exists for the games/programs you want to backup the data from )

    So it appears that if you want to do what you are asking you have two routes to take... Either learn where your game or program stores it's data and see if there is a method to back it up... Or follow the suggestions you have been given such as root the phone and use Titanium or a similar util to perform the backup. Either way, you will need to learn a little bit about the procedure you choose.
     
    romeodakins likes this.
  17. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,020
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    ... and from what has been said up until now about what you are willing to delve into I strongly recommend that you do not root your phone.

    Root-ing does not introduce errors. Root-ing removes many of the fences that protect you from making unintentional errors. Most (all?) people who root their phone "shoot themselves in the foot" at least once.

    The storage of data that you keep coming back to is under the control of the developer of the app (game). They have either provided controls for storing the data or they haven't. If they are storing over 1 GB of data and don't allow you to control where it is stored ... you might ask yourself if you want anything that incompetent on your phone.

    The far left "button" on your Bionic is the entrance to those controls. With the game loaded and you press that "button" does it bring up some configuration options ... like ... data storage location?

    ... Thom
     
    romeodakins likes this.
  18. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    Most apps store their data in the /data partition, which is not exposed to standard users - only to root users. Google hasn't really solved the problem of moving apps and their data to a new phone (or a factory reset phone) like Apple has done with iCloud since iOS 5.

    Some apps save data to the SD card, but it depends on the app.

    Which phone are you moving to?
     
    romeodakins likes this.
  19. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    I think I might be moving to Motorola Atrix 2. Do you guys know if the atrix 2 has media area? I really don't want the media area. Since it's another Motorola phone and also uses the same motoblur I'm scared that it might have media area.
     
  20. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,020
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Please post your Atrix 2 questions in ... Motorola Atrix 2 - Android Forums.

    ... Thom
     
  21. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    I think that you should consider a galaxy nexus. I believe that it is the only phone that has a unified storage area for media and app data - so, the 16 or 32 GB storage is used for app data and photos, etc.

    I do not know for sure, but it would be a strong guess that a moto gingerbread phone like the atrix 2 with an internal memory area is just like the bionic's memory model.
     
  22. Adara

    Adara Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    275
    39
    43
    I'm interested in this thread as I'm moving to a replacement Bionic and am a bit annoyed about all of the data loss I'm going to experience (added to the data loss I already experienced in the factory reset).

    I have a specific question, though, which is:

    In Settings > Privacy, there's an option for "Back up my data" which says, "Back up application data, Wi-Fi passwords, and other settings to Google servers." And then there's that one beneath it that says "Automatic restore," explained as "If I reinstall an application, restore backed up settings or other data."

    What does that do, exactly? It didn't seem to save much application data when I did the (previously annoying) Factory Reset (although, in all honesty, I'm not 100% sure I had both those boxes checked, as I wasn't focussed on it at the time).

    It looks to me like this is intended to address the problem we're discussing here, but I'm having serious doubts that it does. Does anyone have any experience with it?
     
  23. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    As somebody who rooted a phone in the past, I have tried that setting many times and I has never restored third party app data. Maybe some of the google apps, and I know that it has restored some user settings (wifi access points and settings, animation off, screen off after 30 seconds, home screen wallpaper are ones that I specifically know get restored) but, strangely, not all of them.
     
    Adara likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...