1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to be safe in an unsecured network?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zetroc, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. zetroc

    zetroc Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    702
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    702
    99
    88
    Male
    Association Management
    Iowa City, IA
    Is there a way to ensure your data is safe when being sent over an unsecured network? I'm at a Starbucks, and their WiFi is unsecured and I prefer not to log into my bank account while I'm here. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,612
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,612
    4,344
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    in short no. the only way is to not use an unsecured network.
     
  3. scorp64va

    scorp64va Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    71
    10
    38
    Virginia
    While your connection to their wireless access point is not secured, your connection to your bank should be. If using the browser, ensure your bank's website is using https, not http. If your using an app to connect then check with the app developer.
     
  4. drhill

    drhill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    762
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    762
    186
    103
    +1 to both replies.
     
  5. phmatheus

    phmatheus Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, I'm New on Android and Xoom World, but I have found an app called Cisco VPN Client, on the android marketing, can be a solution for this problem. Before I forgoten the app is free!!

    Best Regards
    Pedro H. Matheus
     
  6. IHateMyTreo

    IHateMyTreo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    1,738
    1,319
    323
    Male
    Film/TV Attorney
    Whistler BC and Los Angeles
    Do you have a link? I don't see anything in the Market from Cisco.
     
  7. Digitalevil

    Digitalevil Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    25
    4
    36
    You can use a vpn client only if there's a vpn service available which is not the case for starbucks.
     
  8. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    While it is true that Starbucks doesn't offer a VPN service, you don't need to use a VPN provided by the provider of the wireless network. For example, you can connect to your employer's VPN or you could set one up yourself.

    However, if you do not already have access to a VPN (eg through your employer) setting one up yourself is not trivial although it's perfectly achievable if you are technical. If you aren't, you are out of luck.

    It is worth bearing in mind though that you only need worry about http connections (ie not using SSL/TLS). Any connections over https will be encrypted between your browser and the remote web server and so you don't need to worry about anyone sniffing the traffic so anything like a purchase using your credit card or logging into a banking application will be encrypted and will be adequately protected whether you are using a VPN or not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...