• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps How To Become A Pro App Developer?

Evo 5oh

Android Enthusiast
Dec 1, 2010
Ok, I want to become an app developer...A good one not just a stupid simple app...but i have no knowledge whatsoever...

I was wondering how do I become one? how long will it take (average to be a decent app developer)

I want to know names of books tools and applications I could use and learn from..But I want the best books the best tools and the best software out there to become one... (not asking to provide them & hit me up with a PM)

I will learn and make some research about it around the forum and on google but I will like to hear some of you guys opinions of what you personally use....

Your first step is to become proficient at programming. This will take years as there is a lot more to it than just being able to throw together an app. There is a lot of theory behind it that will enable you to make your apps much higher in quality.

Yea is a never ending profession... Always something new to learn and you got to keep yourself updated..But I want to start somewhere... dont know where...dont know how...i found many books but outdated...

Upvote 0
Well, the first thing you'll want to do is to pick a language to start with. Note, however, that this is not the only language you will learn, but the first (of many) languages that you will add to your toolkit. When I say "learn a language" that process has two steps:
1) Learn the syntax associated with the language
2) Learn the standard APIs associated with the language (i.e. JDK for java and STL for C++).