1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps how to build and complile the android 4.2 (jelly bean)source code

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by samual_D, Jan 26, 2014.

1. samual_D

samual_D Lurker
    None

Jan 26, 2014
    I am new to android development, I am developing a play back feature on Google nexus 10 tablet , which plays specific video format , we have video Decoder.

For that i have downloaded android 4.2 jelly bean source code but , I don't know the steps to Build , compile or how to proceed further with android media framework (for play back feature ).

I searched in Google but i did't got the proper answer there..

Kindly educate me on procedure to follow /or any data/ link which specify in detail about the same.

Thanks in advance ... ! Regards , samual

Advertisement

2. JVene

JVene Well-Known Member
    None

Jan 2, 2014
    What you've briefly described sounds like an application development project, but you're asking about how to build the operating system source code.

These two concepts don't generally go together, but if you have important reasons to have the source code to the OS, it's because you intend to package something for the OS, like a custom ROM or fabrication of a version for new hardware.

Application level development needs only the SDK and likely the NDK - nothing else.

That said, building the source code has been documented many times, so repeating the entire thing here is just not reasonable to do.

However, let's start with the most basic pre-requisite.

Do you have a 64 bit installation of Ubuntu? Linux at all?

If not, start there. You can't build from source without that (not any recent version anyway), and since you didn't mention anything beyond downloading the source, I have to point that out as THE first step.