1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

how to change number of rings before vm picks up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tmaxey1, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. tmaxey1

    tmaxey1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    353
    125
    68
    Since this phone takes about 3 rings for us to hear it... is their a way to change how many rings before your voice mail picks up? It seems like sometimes i only have about 2 seconds to answer before the person has been sent to my VM.

    Thanks guys
     

    Advertisement

  2. nathanotis

    nathanotis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #464
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    402
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    402
    17
    48
    Denver, CO
    This a network setting. I don't believe there is a way to change it. Sorry.
     
  3. NewYorkLaw

    NewYorkLaw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    67
    0
    15
    New York City
    I'm not sure it's 100% network, as opposed to phone. My wife and I are both on Sprint's network. She gets a ring instantaneously on her MotoQ - and will hear 5 or 6 rings before voicemail. On my hero, I don't hear the ring until the 3rd or 4th ring and I only get 1 or 2 before voicemail. Same network, different phones = it must have something to do with the phone.
    Just my non-technical two cents.
    Pete
     
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    I think he was referring to the number of rings before a call is sent to VM as a network setting. As in Sprint controls the number of rings regardless of how many you hear on your end.
     
  5. tmaxey1

    tmaxey1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    353
    125
    68
    Thats not a good thing. I was a tmobile customer before and could control how many rings before vm picked up. Is there a way to turn vm off completely? I cant miss phone calls and its hard when this phone has a 3 ring lag at times.
     
  6. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    I agree.. it's something that is making me seriously look at a different phone.. my contract with Verizon is up in 2 months.. at that time I WILL be leaving them for Sprint.. it's just a matter of which phone.. Hero or Moment.. both have their good points.. both have their bad.. However, like you I can't afford to miss calls (I do server support for hospitals).. now if anyone that has rooted their phone and installed one of the custom ROMS call be positive that it no longer lags on ringing.. then I'd have a very easy choice...

    who knows... by the time I get out of my contract with Verizon.. they'll have the issue resolved.. until then I'll be lurking here and in the Moment forums..
     
  7. cbarth3

    cbarth3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    54
    5
    16
    Paper Technician
    Texas
    You may be able to contact sprint and request extended ring time before vm picks up. worth a shot to at least try and see if something like that is available
     
  8. flmike73

    flmike73 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    There has to be a way. If you look in the contacts, there is an option to send caller directly to voicemail with no rings. If it can be changed to no rings, we should be able to add one or two.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Typically all the No Ring option means is that it's just going to push it to your voicemail once it gets to your physical phone. It will still ring on the callers end while getting the call to your phone.
     
  10. smarkham604

    smarkham604 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    According to the Sprint rep I spoke to, this is not an option. I did have it with the Nextel side of Sprint, and I lost that option when I got the Hero.

     
  11. MinimalistChris

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    27
    4
    16
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
  13. MinimalistChris

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    27
    4
    16
    ^^^ fixed my link above.
     
  14. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Appears to be quality information, thanks!!
     
  15. HappyToCapitul

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    1
    0
    5
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...