1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to change to other CDMA networks

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndroidMoo, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. AndroidMoo

    AndroidMoo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012

    Nov 4, 2012
    93
    15
    38
    Male
    Colombia, Meta, Villavicencio
    Is it possible to go from Metro PCS to another network like boost or virgin? I'm just asking in case this really happens.
     

    Advertisement

  2. h4x0rj3ff

    h4x0rj3ff Chemist
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,565
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    2,565
    874
    323
    Male
    Prototype Precision Machinist
    Tri-Cities, Michigan
    to my knowledge virgin mobile does not allow outside phones on there network. sorry :(
     
  3. AndroidMoo

    AndroidMoo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012

    Nov 4, 2012
    93
    15
    38
    Male
    Colombia, Meta, Villavicencio
    No mod you can make to the phone to make it like a boost or virgin phone?
     
  4. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #189
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    yes it can be done but its complicated requiring a donor phone and its likely to be illegal
     
  5. h4x0rj3ff

    h4x0rj3ff Chemist
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,565
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    2,565
    874
    323
    Male
    Prototype Precision Machinist
    Tri-Cities, Michigan
    Its called cloning and it is federally illegal and we can't talk about it here
     
  6. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Our phones will still work until around 2015. My advice: sell it and get a LG Motion 4G. Or you can get it flashed to cricket legally. You have to find an authorized retailer.
     
  7. cortex_inside

    cortex_inside Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012

    Nov 11, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    I thought esn cloning was only illegal if you were stealing another persons service or monitoring their calls.
     
  8. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    It's illegal if the TOS says it's illegal. Cricket allows cloning. MetroPCS does not. On cricket, to clone a phone, both phones must have same MIN, MDN, and PRL. On metro, both phones need same as before, but also MEID.
     
  9. h4x0rj3ff

    h4x0rj3ff Chemist
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,565
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    2,565
    874
    323
    Male
    Prototype Precision Machinist
    Tri-Cities, Michigan

    I think your thinking of flashing. To my knowledge (I could be wrong) cloning is VERY illegal
     
  10. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Cricket will clone for you if you don't know how (and they know how).
     
  11. AndroidMoo

    AndroidMoo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012

    Nov 4, 2012
    93
    15
    38
    Male
    Colombia, Meta, Villavicencio
    Are there any cricket stores in Miami that can clone the Optimus M to cricket?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...