1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to change widget background??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Heelfan71, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. Heelfan71

    Heelfan71 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    177
    13
    38
    I remember seeing someone edited the widget background for the Genie widget and the FeedR Widget a while back. They said you had to be rooted to do it. Now that I am rooted, I am wondering how. Anyone know how and what I need to do this??
     

    Advertisement

  2. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    717
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    717
    192
    93
    Burbs of Chicago
    The only way I know how to do it is pull the apk of the file you want to change, edit the .png files to your liking and resign it so it will work.

    This app, Auto-Sign.zip, has worked quite well for me. It's simple to use and all the instructions are there.
     
    Heelfan71 likes this.
  3. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    if your rooted you don't need the apk to be signed. you can change the .png file and then push the apk onto the phone using ADB.
     
  4. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    717
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    717
    192
    93
    Burbs of Chicago
    I use auto sign because it's simpler than using adb. Just resign it, put it on sd card and install that way
     
  5. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    I was never able to get the signing thing to work. Adb is easyas long as you know what lines to copy and paste.
     
  6. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    717
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    717
    192
    93
    Burbs of Chicago
    That's why I find auto-sign much simpler, don't have to worry about the lines in cmd.

    Which signing tool did you use? I tried one or two that would never work before finding auto-sign and now it works like a charm every time.
     
  7. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    i don't remember which one. sorry.
     

Share This Page

Loading...