1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to connect Galaxy S5 Active to a PC???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bognerman, Sep 18, 2017.

  1. Bognerman

    Bognerman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    38
    4
    26
    Male
    Hey all! I am about to upgrade my S5 Active to an S6. Problem is, I can't get the files off my phone. I have a lot of personal music files on the phone and can't get them transferred to my laptop or desktop PC. I can't find any music sites that are free where I can upload the songs and I can't get the phone to connect to a PC. When I try, I get a message that says "USB device unrecognized" on any PC I connect my phone to! What gives. Any idea? I can't get it to connect. I tried 3 different PCs.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Have you installed the Samsung USB drivers on your PC? If not, download Kies3 to your PC.
    You will get all the necessary USB drivers and Kies3 has options for backup and Transfer files.
    Also look at Smart Switch.
    http://www.samsung.com/in/support/usefulsoftware/KIES/
     
    mikedt and James L like this.
  3. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,098
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,098
    14,058
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    FYI, "free" might might be difficult to come by or are limited, because servers do cost real $$$ to run of course. There's Google Drive, you couid use that. And doesn't Samsung offer any online storage for their devices?
     
    #3 mikedt, Sep 19, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  4. Bognerman

    Bognerman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    38
    4
    26
    Male
    Hi, yes I did install KIES. Unfortunately, it can't be used to back up an S5. It stopped support at the S4.

    So I beieve the drivers are there. This just started recently so maybe a setting changed on my phone. It may not be a big deal now because I was able to back up everything to Google Drive last night.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  5. Bognerman

    Bognerman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    38
    4
    26
    Male
    Oh, could it be something in Developer Settings?

    Thanks!
     
  6. A bochur

    A bochur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #99
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    597
    306
    193
    Male
    Did you try connecting with a different wire? Cuz I've had cases where the wire was the issue
     
  7. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Android version 5 and above, the default USB connection is charge only. After you connect to your PC, pull down on the top drop-down menu and see if you have options to change to MTP.
     
  8. Bognerman

    Bognerman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    38
    4
    26
    Male
    What's MTP?
    I know I have the Developer option, Debugging enabled. That must be on.

    Oh, you may have nailed it with the cable. I may have only tried my charging cable! Ugh! My fault. Luckily I backed it all up online so I should be good. Thanks guys!
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  9. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  10. Bognerman

    Bognerman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    38
    4
    26
    Male
    Interesting because the cable I used, that dis not work, was the cable that came with the phone. I assumed it was a charge only phone since it came with the AC connector. I was going to try one of the cables I purchased that I know have worked in the past.
     
  11. osumom2003

    osumom2003 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018

    Aug 12, 2018
    2
    0
    15
    how do you pick which one for windows to choose?
     
  12. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama

Share This Page

Loading...