1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to connect to a hidden Wifi network-Android 6.0

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Brock297, Aug 15, 2016.

  1. Brock297

    Brock297 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011

    Sep 24, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    I just bought a new LG Escape 3 and really like the phone for the price. I came from Android 4.2, so I have a lot to learn. My question is how to connect to my home router when I have it set NOT to broadcast. If I turn the broadcast off, my phone disconnects. If I turn the broadcast on, it reconnects. I know I could do this in 4.2. Is there a way to do it in 6.0?

    LG Escape 3
    Android 6.0

    Thanks

     

    Advertisement

  2. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,664
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    WPS pin entry. Maybe.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  3. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,917
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    If you scroll to the bottom of the list of known WiFi networks, is there a "add WiFi network" option where you can enter the ssid?
     
    svim and mikedt like this.
  4. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,436
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,436
    2,513
    608
    Illinois
    You should remove your current SSID entry on your LG, and then as @girolez commented just manually enter a new one by typing in your hidden SSID and password.

    As for WPS, you really should AVOID USING IT! It's a security mess and will only make your home network less safe. Disable it in your router if possible, or just completely ignore it.
    https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/20...ceptible-to-hacking-through-security-feature/
    http://www.howtogeek.com/176124/wi-...-is-insecure-heres-why-you-should-disable-it/
     
  5. Brock297

    Brock297 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011

    Sep 24, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    Manually adding it worked. Thanks all.
     
  6. Brock297

    Brock297 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011

    Sep 24, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    Thank you for the reply. I have a number of layers in addition to WPS so I'm not too worried (yes, I know it's not very good, but I have my reasons). Also, unless someone is specifically targeting me (doubtful) I should be OK :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...