• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

how to delete built in apps on Droid-Rooted

If you're rooted you can do this through the terminal. I believe you have to mount the filesystem first, as follows:

mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

IIRC, then you can delete the apps. Deleting is a bad idea though, in case you ever need to restore them. The best thing to do is rename them by changing the extension. Using .bak is a common practice. You would navigate to the system folder after mounting and do something like this:

mv CorpCal.apk CorpCal.bak

That would change the Corporate Calendar app so it is no longer a valid application. If you ever need to restore it, you can just "mv" backwards so it's an APK again.

If I made a mistake here, please correct me. It's been a while since I used linux and I'm not an expert on Android terminal commands.

Upvote 0
If you're rooted you can do this through the terminal. I believe you have to mount the filesystem first, as follows:

mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

IIRC, then you can delete the apps. Deleting is a bad idea though, in case you ever need to restore them. The best thing to do is rename them by changing the extension. Using .bak is a common practice. You would navigate to the system folder after mounting and do something like this:

mv CorpCal.apk CorpCal.bak

That would change the Corporate Calendar app so it is no longer a valid application. If you ever need to restore it, you can just "mv" backwards so it's an APK again.

If I made a mistake here, please correct me. It's been a while since I used

linux and I'm not an expert on Android terminal commands.

Wait why couldnt i just redownload a .apk file of it???

Upvote 0
Wait why couldnt i just redownload a .apk file of it???