1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to delete videos and pictures from my Samsung Galaxy S2 camera FOREVER?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by kps32, Jul 16, 2013.

1. kps32

kps32 Lurker
    None

Jul 16, 2013
    Hello :)

Thanks for (hopefully) answering my quick question. I (stupidly) took an indecent image/recording of myself about a year ago, which I deleted about 8 months ago. There is no way of accessing the data on my phone as it's obviously been deleted, but I understand that certain retrieval programmes can be used to recover the file. My concern is that when I sell my phone, some computer pro could recover the file and it could come back to haunt me. Before selling my phone, is there anything I could do to get rid of it forever? Destroy the microsd card, sim card, use overwriting software etc? I'm sorry if I sound as if I have no clue what I am on about as I am a technology novice.

Thanks for your help :)

Advertisement

2. gtbarry

gtbarry Android Expert
    None

Jul 15, 2012
    Male
    California
    Phone memory is like computer memory. Deleting a file and factory resets do nothing.

100% guaranteed removal? No never. If it was ever on a hard drive, remnants MIGHT remain and anyone with the access, desire and time can get at it POTENTIALLY.

Virtually 100% guaranteed? If you format the drive/card it was on, not just once, but a few times the chances of someone recovering it are infinitesimal. But still possible.

You can read some from this company that Darik's Boot and Nuke (one of the better consumer computer data erasing programs) refers to off their home page:

Blancco Software for Mobile Phone Erasure

BTW, where was the file stored? Phone? Card?

3. kps32

kps32 Lurker
    None

Jul 16, 2013
    Thanks for the reply. I'm not 100% sure. To access these photos, I would go into 'gallery' under the files tab if that's any use? Or I would just scroll through all the pictures I took on the camera tab. Thanks.