1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How to delete words in the dictionary????

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by google123, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. google123

    google123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    133
    6
    36
    When I'm texting, often words popup that are nowhere near the word that I have typed or am working on typing out. I know that I can press that down arrow and add a word but how can I delete some of the words that are already there. For example, sometimes, I start a message with "I'm" and the phone types "Um" instead. I have no need for the word "Um" :D Thanks everyone. Great site btw, I have learned so much here.

    Also, is there an AutoText app similar to the BlackBerry where I can type a word or series of letters and have it automagically replaced with something else? For example:

    ctrn = I can't talk right now because I am driving. :D

    Also, I actually miss the Sound Profiles of my old Curve 8330. Any apps in the market that are similar?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    You can't delete the words that come within the dictionary. I wish.
     
  3. morrobaybum

    morrobaybum Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    i found that locale can give you alot of what sound profiles used to do. it can also be time based or location based too which is a extra nice feature
     
  4. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    the custom dictionary is not as good as bb, no there are no auto replacements that i have found, i use the app quick profiles for sound profiles like bb....the app just works, no extra crap needed.
     
  5. jsalny

    jsalny Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    IT support specialist
    Ok, so we can't delete words from the dictionary. But what about words we have accidentally typed and the phone saves? Example if I type "on" then the phone automatically comes up as ob. My "Of" always comes up capitalized, anyway to edit the custom dictionary?
     
  6. Steve Lokenheimer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Pittsburgh N@
    I need help with this also. i hate when i try to type IF it comes up as ID
     
  7. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    I have the same issue. Unfortunately, there's no way to solve the problem.

    I really have gotten used to the "compact qwerty", but there's some words that come up that make me scratch my head. Also, sometimes the words aren't even options when I hit the down arrow to see a list of options. The compact beats the default keyboard though.
     
  8. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    216
    1
    36
    San Diego, CA, USA
    With the Eris/Hero phones, you can actually delete the entire user dictionary and start over. But, there's no way to edit it. :(
     
  9. jsalny

    jsalny Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    IT support specialist
    Ok guys, took a while but I found it. Go to settings, applications, manage applications, text input and clear cache. This will delete only the words that have been saved since you started typing.
     
  10. Mortgage_It

    Mortgage_It Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    120
    1
    36
    Delaware
    i hope it did not take too long since it has been discussed on here many times in the past
     
  11. nellie2110

    nellie2110 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    I cant seem to find text input in my applications. What am I missing?
     
  12. hybridowner

    hybridowner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    30
    4
    16
    So. Cal.
    I think it's supposed to be "Touch Input" not "Text Input". Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  13. nellie2110

    nellie2110 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks for the fast response. I was wondering that and hope not, because my cache was empty (was when I first looked at it, didnt give me the chance to clear it) and I have words I want to get rid of that I have mis typed. So not sure what I can do now.
     
  14. jmt17

    jmt17 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Go into Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Touch Input>Clear Data

    This will clear USER dictionary and settings such as Vibrate and Sounds while texting, which can be set back in seconds under Settings>Locale and Text

    Hope this helps!
     
  15. thetingster

    thetingster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    504
    31
    88
    Top Secret
    Utah, USA
    Great tips people thanks.
     
  16. beardman

    beardman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    I found I could delete individual words if I went into settings/ language and keyboard/ touch input/ user dictionary.
     
    BMF136 likes this.
  17. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    This thread was started when the Eris was running 1.5 ... there was not a way to delete words at that time. You are correct for 2.1 though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...