1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How To Dial *100#-like numbers / THL 5000 4.4.2

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Lakis01, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. Lakis01

    Lakis01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015

    Jul 4, 2015
    9
    4
    6
    Male
    Hey everyone,

    I suppose this is a fairly simple question.
    I need to know how to dial custom numbers.
    E.g. *100#, which returns my credit balance.
    Or http://forum.xtreamer.net/Support-Mobile/questions/106/How+To+Increase+Microphone+Volume and http://www.thlmobilestore.com/news/how-to-change-thl-mboile-phone-the-volume/.

    Way back, when I did not have a touch screen phone, I used to just press those numbers and confirm.
    But now I don't have that option.
    I tried opening the phone and the messages app, but entering those numbers there didn't help.

    Thanks in advance!

    Kind regards

    Markus
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,662
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,662
    13,650
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    You should just be able to do it from the phone app usually. Something like *100# or whatever code you want, and tap call. Not really much different to a feature phone with a keypad, it hasn't really changed, it's just on-screen now.

    What actually happens if you do that, are you getting an error or something?
     
  3. Lakis01

    Lakis01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015

    Jul 4, 2015
    9
    4
    6
    Male
    If I do that it only gives me the option to call *100# or add it to contacts. If I click the first choice it says "Connection problem or invalid MMI Code".
    And it actually calls *#*#3646633#*#*
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,662
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,662
    13,650
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    What's *#*#3646633#*#* actually supposed to do? What phone have to got there, and who's your carrier?

    I know about *#*#4636#*#* which might bring up the device information and diagnostics menus. Which on an Oppo it does, but on a Samsung Note 7 it doesn't, it tries to dial it. which comes back as a wrong number of course.

    My carrier is China Unicom, and it always results in an invalid MMI code. Because I don't think this carrier uses these *# type codes. When I was in the UK with Lebara pre-paid, sure it did work for getting balance, activating data packages, etc. I was using the same Oppo R7 Plus phone.

    I presume dialling *#06# from the phone app works? Which is show IMEI, ESN, etc. And that should work on every phone there is.
     
    #4 mikedt, Sep 18, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
  5. Lakis01

    Lakis01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015

    Jul 4, 2015
    9
    4
    6
    Male
    according to the first link I posted, it enables you to edit some system sound settings -> in order to boost the mic.
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    Well that's weird. On my S7 Edge, I just tap the code needed (for my carrier it's *143#), and just tap call and I get the options for balance inquiry and stuff.
     
  7. Lakis01

    Lakis01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015

    Jul 4, 2015
    9
    4
    6
    Male
    Maybe its due to my earlier Android Version (4.4.2) or more likely because THL has an inferior firmware.
    Any possible workaround?
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,662
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,662
    13,650
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    That code is specific to your carrier. With Lebara in the UK, it's *#1345# to do balance enquiry. With Unicom, I dial 10010, and it's actually a phone call with voice announcements of remaining balance, etc. To activate things, like data, I send SMS codes, or there's a SIM menu.
     
    #8 mikedt, Sep 18, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
  9. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,662
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,662
    13,650
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    That's definitely a manufacturer or device specific code. If it's not recognized, the phone will attempt to dial it as a phone call. Could be they changed the firmware, or it's not for your particular THL model?

    *#*#4636#*#* is a code that many devices should recognize, and it usually brings up detailed information about the device, cellular modes, etc. I mentioned before, *#06#, which commands it to show the IMEI, ESN, etc. That's an industry standard, that all phones do.

    I've never heard of THL before. They're in China and this is their Chinese site apparently.
    http://www.thl.com.cn/
     
    #9 mikedt, Sep 18, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
  10. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    Yes but so is the code the OP is trying. He's trying to get to his balance inquiry.

    I'd think it's his device. Not Android. I have a Galaxy Tab on 4.4 with a sim and it can do the carrier USSD codes just fine.
     
  11. Lakis01

    Lakis01 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015

    Jul 4, 2015
    9
    4
    6
    Male
    tried *#*#4636#*#* as well and it actually calls it...
    I'm on blau.de in Germany, but I'm fairly sure this is due to my phone - THL 5000
     

Share This Page

Loading...