1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to Disable BLOATWARE???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The_Chief, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,512
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,512
    13,634
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Okay, I've hit yet ANOTHER speedbump on the road to Note 7 nirvana.

    This time, it's disabling bloatware. I was under the impression that we could go to Settings and disable any app that we couldn't uninstall. However, every time I select "Disable" on a bloatware app, I get:

    "Do you want to replace this app with the factory version?"

    No, I don't want to replace it with ANYTHING! Is everyone getting this message, or is this just for us Verizon users so we can't get rid of this crap?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,519
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    That isn't new. It just means you can't uninstall the app, it will uninstall all updates to the apps, then disable it.
     
  3. WeeWilly

    WeeWilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    358
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    358
    284
    108
    Male
    Retired
    Rescue, California
    My T-Mobile version didn't come with a lot of bloatware, although I did switch several of the default apps.
     
    DILands likes this.
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,512
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,512
    13,634
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    So what you're saying is to tap YES and then, after it does its thing, I can disable it?
     
  5. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,519
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    Correct.
     
    The_Chief likes this.
  6. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    Interesting thread. I haven't disabled anything yet, but probably will a few things once my phone is set up the way I want it. This is the first phone I will ever have owned that I cannot root, so there will be a few negatives to not having root, and not being able to hide an app via Titanium is one of those negatives. Factory bloatware I would rarely uninstall, just hide it and make it inactive via Titanium in case I ever needed that app for reset reasons.
     
  7. kokiangel

    kokiangel Android Expert
    Rank:
     #98
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,267
    665
    253
    Female
    Banker
    Helena, Alabama
    Don't forget to tap the 3 dots in the upper right corner and select show system apps to get all of the bloat. Although I didn't really find a lot on my phone either. Or it is really well disguised now.
     
    blackcar likes this.

Samsung Galaxy Note 7

The Samsung Galaxy Note 7 was launched in 2016, before subsequently being removed from production over battery issues.

Share This Page

Loading...