1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to disable cell radio?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CriticalCritic, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    When I am at school I can barely get a signal. I constantly get notifications for going in and out of service and it's MURDERING my battery! So I was wondering if anyone knows how to completely disable my cellphone usage WITHOUT disabling wifi?
     

    Advertisement

  2. joeykrim

    joeykrim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    89
    15
    18
    ive never done this and dont have the time at the moment to test out this idea but i know when i see the radio restart in logcat it shows ppp or pppd up and down. its been forever since i had dialup in linux and manually typed ppp commands but this might be a good starting point to look. although it might be for setting up the EVDO connection and also the WiFi connection.
    outside of a simple app in the market, i assume you checked there, this is the first idea which comes to my mind. it might be a dead end so im just putting ideas out there to brain storm and help!
     
  3. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    I feel like I've seen an app for this. Maybe I'm wrong though. Can't check right now.
     
  4. nate f

    nate f Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    It's called "Airplane Mode Wi-fi Tool" just installed to try out and it sound like what you need. Can't make a call but I'm connected to my home router and online. Works
     
  5. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    EXCELLENT! Thank You!:D
     
  6. Tyrahn

    Tyrahn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    55
    1
    16
    Theatre Technical Director
    Milwaukee, WI
    You must go to the same school I work at ... :rolleyes:

    I've used "OneTouch Widget" for a while to quickly enable airplane mode, wi-fi, GPS, ect ... the airplane mode widget has the option to keep wi-fi connected while in airplane mode. The only catch is that it still disables all the wi-fi options, so you need to be connected to the network when you enable airplane mode or you're screwed.

    I'll check out "Airplane Mode Wi-Fi Tool" as well, sounds promising.

    Clark
     
  7. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    Finally testing it out today and it causes both of my browsers (default and steel) to fc. So I'm going to try onetouch next.
     
  8. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    92
    4
    36
    Sales engineer
    Woodstock, GA USA
    That's ONE CLICK widget, not one touch... Just FYI.
     
  9. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    It works perfectly AND it's a widget!:D:D:D

    Thanks Tyrahn!:)
     
  10. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    92
    4
    36
    Sales engineer
    Woodstock, GA USA
    If only I knew how to reach the One Click developer.
    WE need the "airplane mode" to allow bluetooth too...
     
  11. momentoid

    momentoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    367
    62
    53
    US of A
    You can find developer's email address in Market on app page after the description of product, comments, developer's web page.
     
  12. Woest

    Woest Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    is there any way to completely turn off your sell radio cause at the battery use setting this uses most of my battery
     
  13. Iforgit

    Iforgit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    56
    2
    16
    You can use the airplane mode. There are actually widgets and apps that streamline the process, but it can be as easy as turning on airplane mode with the end call button then going into settings and turning wifi on then connecting.

    edit: apps are literally called airplane wifi if that helps
     
  14. mininchico

    mininchico Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    So if I turn cell standby off and use airplane mode I can still send and receive
    calls AND use 3g? I do not understand!
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...