1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to disable that damn system write protection

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Masterchief87, May 19, 2015.

  1. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    I did the m5 checker and when I checked both files it just told me they aren't equal not sure what that means
     

    Advertisement

  2. auburn2eugene

    auburn2eugene Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    164
    61
    93
    Male
    Eugene Oregon

    Then try redownloading the zip files. That's why I said in the video that you MUST check those md5s before flashing them...
     
  3. auburn2eugene

    auburn2eugene Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    164
    61
    93
    Male
    Eugene Oregon
    My apologies for misreading your message about that Masterchief87. I made the video because I was being bombarded with questions on google+. I made it to show people EXACTLY, how to run your files... And still not everyone listened or paid attention. And James that isnt directed at you

    Not to mention it was my very first upload ever for "public broadcast."
     
  4. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Ive never uploaded a video either lol so it might take me a couple tries to get it right.
     
    master odysues likes this.
  5. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    I can make video and try to explain as much as possible on how to use your files. Switch back and forth many time with out issues ?
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  6. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    Hi good morning everytime I try those two files it keeps on telling me fail I even have a back up SD card tried them on that one so those two files have to be flashed from SD card and yes when I check them in the system they are fine when I put them unto SD card they say something different .my system is on and doing well but would love to be able to put viper4android back on my phone
     
  7. BLACKSTARATL

    BLACKSTARATL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 26, 2015

    May 26, 2015
    46
    10
    28
    Male
    OK I HAVE ROOTED MY PHONE WITH
    hroark13 METHOD EVERTHING WORKS I HAVE ALL MY APPS , XPSOSED ALL WORK .MY THING IS HAVING WRITE ACCESS TO THE SYSTEM FOR I CAN USE ADAWAY APP . SO IF I USE YOUR FRIST ZIP I WILL HAVE WRITE ACCESS SO I WILL DO EVER THING THEN LIKE RUN ADAWAY AND SO ON,AND WHEN FIN. I USE THE SEC. ZIP TO GO BACK. AND HAVE EVERTHING WORKING IS THIS HOW IT WORKS AND DO I HAVE HAVE BUTTERNOOB V2 INSTALL I HAVE METRO PCS 4.4.4 Z970
     
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    I'm going to make a video on how to root the zmax and then I'm going to make another one on how to use my zips. I tried making one that showed the whole process from start to finish but it ended up being like 45 minutes long
     
    BLACKSTARATL likes this.
  9. DeadDude

    DeadDude Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    342
    51
    73
    Yes. No butternoob needed.
     
  10. BLACKSTARATL

    BLACKSTARATL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 26, 2015

    May 26, 2015
    46
    10
    28
    Male
    OK THANKS
     
  11. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    What's the difference with the twrp2 and the one on Google play
     
  12. DeadDude

    DeadDude Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    342
    51
    73
    One is for *this* phone, one links to *official* ports and requires root before it can actually *load* twrp to recovery.

    FYI
    The twrp that works is unofficial.
     
  13. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    I was wondering if you have metro PCs zte zmax android 4.4.4 rooted ROM
     
  14. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    What is this when you format twrp it shows wiping data without wiping /data/media
     
  15. DroidisLinux

    DroidisLinux Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    May 17, 2015

    May 17, 2015
    55
    20
    18
    Male
    I believe media might be a symlink to your sdcard or emmc
     
  16. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    I'm really stumped it keeps on telling me error reading from the two zips and error reading from your metro PCs zte android 4.4.4 stock ROM but not an error when I reinstalled butternoob 1 and two.
     
  17. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    I was reading up about busybox
     
  18. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    When I still had my lg optimus I was able to root it and install twrp when the android was on and able to install custom ROM thru a program from aptitode or thru Google play
     
  19. jameswarrant

    jameswarrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015

    May 24, 2015
    58
    2
    26
    Male
    I think I told you I had the r/w write thing installed bevuase I had installed viper4android and when I installed it gives you 3 options extreme.moderate .power saver so I wanted to change it to power saver drivers so I went into twrp and instead of zipping boot switcher I installed the second file by mistake
     
  20. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida

    None of this would cause the zips to quit working. I'm sorry but I have no idea what you're doing wrong.

    If you flashed the restore zip instead of the switcher zip then all you should have to do is re flash the switcher again. Did you make sure that zip file signature verification is turned off in twrp?
     
    #95 Masterchief87, May 27, 2015
    Last edited: May 27, 2015
  21. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Using the kingrootv4 apk, the modded twrp app, supersu twrp zip and yours I had my phone perm rooted and with r/w in about 20min without a pc.
     
  22. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    I was also trying to explain everything in detail for people who don't really know what they are doing since those are the people that the video would be for.
     
  23. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Oh. I thought you were doing the long method involving command prompts and whatnot on pc. I haven't seen any phone only root guides and have been too lazy to create a thread.
     
    master odysues and Masterchief87 like this.
  24. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Hroark13 just updated twrp to 2.8.6.0 so I will be updating all of my zips very soon.
     
    TieMonkey and FateZero like this.
  25. cere18749

    cere18749 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    34
    12
    28
    Male
    hi i have a quick question. masterchief87 i use your zips and i notice that when i use the SWITCHER zip i turn off the phone to charge and it always lights up to the android splash screen. is that normal since im using the SWITCHER zip?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...