1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to disable that damn system write protection

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Masterchief87, May 19, 2015.

  1. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Yes it has something to do with the boot.img being on a different partition than normal. It happens for me too but it doesn't bother me. If it bothers you then just flash the switcher zip whenever you need system RW and then boot back into TWRP and flash the restore zip after you're done.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cere18749

    cere18749 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    34
    12
    28
    Male
    ooh ok but the phone can still charge even though the boot.img is in a different partition?
     
  3. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Yeah it still charges. Maybe not quite as quick though since a white screen uses more power than black.
     
  4. cere18749

    cere18749 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    34
    12
    28
    Male
    ohh ok thank you for responding
     
  5. djc7980

    djc7980 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    60
    6
    16
    Currently I am on ButterNoob V2 with Tmobile and have version TWRP 2.8.6.0 Recovery, will your zips still work for me to give me full r/w in system? And if it does it will only work on Butternoob V1, also what happens when I flash V2?
     
    #105 djc7980, May 29, 2015
    Last edited: May 29, 2015
  6. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    You would need the zips for metro & butternoob v2 that are in the 2nd post. BTW, until I update them, your recovery will get downgraded to 2.7.1 when you flash the zips. If you try to use the ones in the post you quoted, your phone will boot into recovery but will refuse to boot android.
     
  7. thatmann00b

    thatmann00b Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Idk why I'm having such a hard time finding this but does someone know where I can find the files to flash back to T-Mobile stock? -___-
     
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    I just updated all four zips. The new links for all four zips are up along with the new md5 sums.

    Just like before, don't use these zips without checking the md5 sums first. Also, if you want to put the zips in a different location on your phone, copy them to the new folder and check the md5 sums again. Do not just move them.
     
    kardeef likes this.
  9. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    I like to live dangerously. I haven't checked an md5 in three years.
    Oh... And what's changed? Just curious.
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  10. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    I strongly emphasize the importance of checking the md5 for each zip after you download them because if you get a bad download it could, in a worst case scenario, corrupt both your boot and recovery partitions at the same time which would cause your phone to be soft-bricked with no method to fix it. This isn't like a Rom zip that if you get a bad download you can just download and flash it again.

    What has changed is that I put hroark13's new TWRP2.8.6.0 recovery image in the new zips so that your recovery doesn't get downgraded to 2.7.1.0 every time you flash one.
     
  11. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Lol. I know, I have a weird sense of humor.
     
    CYCONUMNUM and Masterchief87 like this.
  12. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    I don't take any chances when it comes to making or posting these zips. All four zips contain the stock boot.img for either the MetroPCS or T-Mobile stock Rom along with the recovery.img for hroark13's TWRP recovery.

    Before I upload each zip I first extract the boot.img and recovery.img from each zip. I then flash the images one at a time, rebooting into android or recovery depending on which image I just flashed in order to make sure that none of the eight image files were corrupted during the process of making the zips.

    After making sure that none of the images are corrupted, I flash each of the four zips, rebooting into both recovery and android after flashing each one to ensure that they all work properly.

    Next, I upload the zips and then re-download all of them and compare the md5 sums to the original zips to make sure that none of them got corrupted when I uploaded them.

    After that, I re-test all four of the downloaded zips to make sure that they all work properly, and once I have done all of this, I finally post all four zips along with their respective md5 checksums.
     
  13. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Well. If you bust a phone I have a spare I'd be willing to swap for a the brick. (So I have spare parts in the event of an emergency).

    Nice to see a dedicated person with a good head on their shoulders.
     
  14. DroidisLinux

    DroidisLinux Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    May 17, 2015

    May 17, 2015
    55
    20
    18
    Male
    Masterchief87 is definitely a quick learner asked me a few questions before he rooted, and because of that he was able to give you all Metro stock before a permroot, wish I wasn't so spontaneous so I could have done the same, but I was like on rootcrack when case posted how to root it, didn't think before I did the root. Waiting on new phone filed claim be a week or so before I am back , then I will get a stock backup in before I do anything :)
     
  15. intrdrgn

    intrdrgn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    1,000
    357
    173
    Male
    Distribution
    Brandon, Florida
    I recently did the boot switcher & boot restorer, everything is good but I noticed when booting I'm only missing the ZTE ZMAX Logo, & just says powered by Android. Everything is fine, did I do something wrong?
     
  16. iSoBeastOnYou

    iSoBeastOnYou Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 18, 2015

    May 18, 2015
    76
    7
    36
    Male
    server/student
    Daytona beach, fl
    Can you tell me what I would need r/w permissions for. I no I wouldn't need them since I asked lol. just can't find a simple answer on what it's used for.
     
  17. TieMonkey

    TieMonkey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 22, 2015

    May 22, 2015
    22
    12
    28
    Male
    I'm going to guess that some alterations to the zip's will need to be made to be able to use with the cm12.1?
     
  18. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    So you can edit stuff in the /system directory of the phone.
    Without it root is basically useless.
     
  19. kardeef

    kardeef Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015

    Feb 10, 2015
    24
    7
    16
    On the XDA site there's people asking why some stuff won't install and it's because they don't have system rw, I forget the name of the stuff they are trying to install. Sry.
     
  20. kardeef

    kardeef Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015

    Feb 10, 2015
    24
    7
    16
    Aye, its normal :)
     
    intrdrgn likes this.
  21. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Even if I'm 99% sure what I'm doing I'd rather be 100% so that everything goes right. I now have flashable stock ROMs for both MetroPCS and T-Mobile to return to stock I just haven't had the time to upload and post them yet.
     
    iSoBeastOnYou, djc7980 and DeadDude like this.
  22. iSoBeastOnYou

    iSoBeastOnYou Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 18, 2015

    May 18, 2015
    76
    7
    36
    Male
    server/student
    Daytona beach, fl
    What would I be editing. And what apps would need r/w permissions.

    I understand that it's so you can write to the system.
     
  23. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    That may be true for some of us but not everybody needs rw permissions. When I rooted my first phone, all I cared about was bypassing tethering restrictions which doesn't require the ability to write to system.
    For example if you wanted to delete lookout security or change the boot animation. Apps that would need this ability would include root explorer, titanium backup, ROM toolbox, busybox installer, and other similar apps.
     
    DeadDude and iSoBeastOnYou like this.
  24. iSoBeastOnYou

    iSoBeastOnYou Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 18, 2015

    May 18, 2015
    76
    7
    36
    Male
    server/student
    Daytona beach, fl
    That's exactly what I was looking for. You my man are awesome.
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  25. FateZero

    FateZero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    100
    60
    73
    Male
    Part time Pizza Hut team member
    California
    Any chance to get these working in CM12.1? And thanks for what you've done for the ZMAX community Masterchief. You're awesome!
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...